Essential Forensic Biology by
Essential Forensic Biology is an introduction to the application of the science of biology in legal investigations. Focusing on the legal system in the UK, the book provides a detailed description of the decay process, and discusses the role of forensic indicators - human fluids and tissues, including blood cells, bloodstain pattern analysis, hair, teeth, bones and wounds. It also considers the role microorganisms, invertebrates and plants play within forensic investigations before considering future directions in forensic science. The book examines the study of forensic biology in cases of suspicious death, and also explores the organisms used in a range of legal investigations; from human and animal neglect to food spoilage, structural damage, the illegal collection/trade of protected species and bioterrorism. Essential Forensic Biology fills the gap for a resource, which provides information on the range of biological organisms; animals, plants and microbes used in forensic studies. An invaluable introductory text for all students taking forensic science courses, the book features a fully integrated website that covers forensic entomology with additional material and figures from the text to enhance student understanding. An introduction covering the essentials of forensic biology Features a fully integrated website covering forensic entomology with additional material and self-test questions to reinforce student understanding Each chapter includes a series of questions and topics for further study Focuses on the UK legal system From the reviews: "...the numerous black and white photographs, drawings and tables within the book are clear and well deployed." TIMES HIGHER EDUCATION SUPPLEMENT, 23rd February 2007
Forensic Biology, Second Edition by
Over the last several years, new research and developments in analysis methods and practice have led to rapid advancements in forensic biology. Identifying critical points of knowledge and new methodological approaches in the field, Forensic Biology, Second Editionfocuses on forensic serology and forensic DNA analysis. It provides students and professionals with a scientific grounding in biological evidence--both the techniques used to identify it and the methodology to analyze it. This second edition: Introduces the language of forensic biology, enabling students to become comfortable with usage and terminology Provides clear explanations of the principles of forensic identification and analysis of biological evidence Explains forensic serology and DNA techniques used in the field and the laboratory Discusses the benefits and limitations that apply to various forensic biology techniques Includes schematic illustrations to clarify concepts Presents three new chapters created for this edition Adds more than two hundred new color figures Covering the full scope of forensic biology, the book uses an accessible, straightforward style designed to enhance students' education and training so they are prepared, both in the laboratory and in the field.
Chemistry Made Easy by 
Forensic Chemistry by
Introducing the principal areas of study from the perspective of analytical chemistry, this book introduces chemical concepts and practices from a forensic perspective, including multivariate statistics, quality assurance/quality control (QA/QC), and protocols used in working forensic laboratories.
Forensic Chemistry by
This book offers a fascinating look at the field of forensic chemistry.From the study of explosives and bodily fluids to drug analysis and fingerprints, chemical methods have played a major role in crime investigation in the last few decades. ""Forensic Chemistry"" examines the many ways these scientific techniques have infiltrated crime investigation in today's world.This accessible book examines the chemical characteristics of fuels and explosives, as well as arson-related methods; other ways of identifying criminals through chemical processes, including blood and bodily fluid analyses, the chemical characteristics found in fibers and hair, and latent and DNA fingerprinting; and the chemical properties of drug analysis. Biographical information on important researchers in the field is also included. ""Forensic Chemistry"" is ideal for readers interested in the chemical methods used behind the crime scene.The chapters include: The Origins of Forensic Science; Fingerprinting; Forensic Serology; Toxicology and Drug Testing; Arson and Explosives Investigations; and, DNA Fingerprinting.
Forensic Science by
The only A-Z reference work on forensic science, one of the most intriguing and exciting fields in criminological studies. * 300+ A-Z entries covering all aspects of forensic science, including crime scene investigation, evidence identification, and the historical development of forensics * 30+ photographs illustrating techniques such as the examination of ink and handwriting, hairs and fibers, guns and ammunition, and foot and tire prints * Clear, descriptive entries, geared toward high school students and readers interested in criminology or criminal justice * Dozens of real life examples from the fields of criminology, justice, and forensic science, revealing the latest and most advanced techniques
Handbook of the Real Crime Labs by
The goal of this handbook is to address the true workings of a major metropolitan crime lab, focusing on each section and explaining the capabilities and the limitations of the processes involved in the examination of forensic evidence. Topics include: the Investigation of a Crime Scene, Evidence Handling and Storage, and more
Molecular Forensics by
Molecular Forensics offers a comprehensive coverage of the increasingly important role that molecular analysis plays within forensic science. Starting with a broad introduction of modern forensic molecular technologies, the text covers key issues from the initial scenes of crime sampling to the use of evidential material in the prosecution of legal cases. The book also explores the questions raised by the growing debate on the applications of national DNA databases and the resulting challenges of developing, maintaining and curating such vast data structures. The broader range of applications to non-human cases is also discussed, as are the statistical pitfalls of using so-called unique data such as DNA profiles, and the ethical considerations of national DNA databases. An invaluable reference for students taking courses within the Forensic and Biomedical sciences, and also useful for practitioners in the field looking for a broad overview of the subject. Provides a comprehensive overview of modern forensic molecular technologies. Explores the growing debate on the applications of national DNA databases. Discusses the initial phases of investigation to the conclusion of cases involving molecular forensic analysis.
Fundamentals of Forensic DNA Typing by
Fundamentals of Forensic DNA Typing is written with a broad viewpoint. It examines the methods of current forensic DNA typing, focusing on short tandem repeats (STRs). It encompasses current forensic DNA analysis methods, as well as biology, technology and genetic interpretation. This book reviews the methods of forensic DNA testing used in the first two decades since early 1980's, and it offers perspectives on future trends in this field, including new genetic markers and new technologies. Furthermore, it explains the process of DNA testing from collection of samples through DNA extraction, DNA quantitation, DNA amplification, and statistical interpretation. The book also discusses DNA databases, which play an important role in law enforcement investigations. In addition, there is a discussion about ethical concerns in retaining DNA profiles and the issues involved when people use a database to search for close relatives. Students of forensic DNA analysis, forensic scientists, and members of the law enforcement and legal professions who want to know more about STR typing will find this book invaluable.
DNA by
Includes a Foreword by Dr. James D. Watson, the co-discoverer of the DNA double helix, and Dr. Jan A. Witkowski. "From the Foreword by Drs. Watson and Witkowski: 'DNA: Forensic and Legal Applications is a comprehensive and invaluable guide to the field, covering topics ranging from collecting samples in the field to presenting the complex results to a jury. We are sure that it will play its part in promoting this most powerful tool in the forensic scientist's armamentarium.'" DNA: Forensic and Legal Applications covers the technology and laws related to DNA, as well as the use of DNA evidence in the legal system. This combination of science and law makes it the first comprehensive title of its kind and an appropriate reference for those with both elementary and advanced knowledge of the topic. It draws together in one source information that would previously have required extensive research and reliance on experts to obtain, offering both breadth and depth in a clear style without s acrificing scholarly goals. With material from both scientific and legal areas, DNA: Forensic and Legal Applications covers the latest advances in technology. It provides an ideal text for forensic scientists and students of forensic science, analytical chemists, lawyers, judges, police officers, and detectives.
Forensic DNA Typing Protocols by
A state-of-the-art collection of readily reproducible laboratory methods for DNA identity analysis, including Y chromosome haplotyping, mtDNA, and SNP typing. The book offers well-tested protocols for DNA quantification using real-time PCR on forensic samples and for the determination of the number of amelogenine gene copies. For forensic geneticists, there are readily reproducible methods for species identification, ancient DNA, and pharmacogenetics. Additional chapters address new applications in the forensic genetics lab, such a species identification or typing of CYP polymorphisms for the analysis of adverse to drugs.
Inside the Cell by
Josiah Sutton was convicted of rape. He was five inches shorter and 65 pounds lighter than the suspect described by the victim, but at trial a lab analyst testified that his DNA was found at the crime scene. His case looked like many others--arrest, swab, match, conviction. But there was just one problem--Sutton was innocent. We think of DNA forensics as an infallible science that catches the bad guys and exonerates the innocent. But when the science goes rogue, it can lead to a gross miscarriage of justice. Erin Murphy exposes the dark side of forensic DNA testing: crime labs that receive little oversight and produce inconsistent results; prosecutors who push to test smaller and poorer-quality samples, inviting error and bias; law-enforcement officers who compile massive, unregulated, and racially skewed DNA databases; and industry lobbyists who push policies of "stop and spit." DNA testing is rightly seen as a transformative technological breakthrough, but we should be wary of placing such a powerful weapon in the hands of the same broken criminal justice system that has produced mass incarceration, privileged government interests over personal privacy, and all too often enforced the law in a biased or unjust manner.Inside the Cell exposes the truth about forensic DNA, and shows us what it will take to harness the power of genetic identification in service of accuracy and fairness.
DNA by
The genetic revolution has provided incredibly valuable information about our DNA, information that can be used to benefit and inform--but also to judge, discriminate, and abuse. An essential reference for living in today's world, this book gives the background information critical to understanding how genetics is now affecting our everyday lives. Written in clear, lively language, it gives a comprehensive view of exciting recent discoveries and explores the ethical, legal, and social issues that have arisen with each new development.
Genetic Suspects by
As DNA forensic profiling and databasing become established as key technologies in the toolbox of the forensic sciences, their expanding use raises important issues that promise to touch everyone's lives. In an authoritative global investigation of a diverse range of countries, including those at the forefront of these technologies' development and use, this book identifies and provides critical reflection upon the many issues of privacy; distributive justice; DNA information system ownership; biosurveillance; function creep; the reliability of collection, storage and analysis of DNA profiles; the possibility of transferring medical DNA information to forensics databases; and democratic involvement and transparency in governance, an emergent key theme. This book is timely and significant in providing the essential background and discussion of the ethical, legal and societal dimensions for academics, practitioners, public interest and criminal justice organisations, and students of the life sciences, law, politics, and sociology.
Genetic Justice by
National DNA databanks were initially established to catalogue the identities of violent criminals and sex offenders. However, since the mid-1990s, forensic DNA databanks have in some cases expanded to include people merely arrested, regardless of whether they've been charged or convicted of a crime. The public is largely unaware of these changes and the advances that biotechnology and forensic DNA science have made possible. Yet many citizens are beginning to realize that the unfettered collection of DNA profiles might compromise our basic freedoms and rights. Two leading authors on medical ethics, science policy, and civil liberties take a hard look at how the United States has balanced the use of DNA technology, particularly the use of DNA databanks in criminal justice, with the privacy rights of its citizenry. Krimsky and Simoncelli analyze the constitutional, ethical, and sociopolitical implications of expanded DNA collection in the United States and compare these findings to trends in the United Kingdom, Japan, Australia, Germany, and Italy. They explore many controversial topics, including the legal precedent for taking DNA from juveniles, the search for possible family members of suspects in DNA databases, the launch of "DNA dragnets" among local populations, and the warrantless acquisition by police of so-called abandoned DNA in the search for suspects. Most intriguing, Krimsky and Simoncelli explode the myth that DNA profiling is infallible, which has profound implications for criminal justice.
Principles of Forensic Toxicology by 
Molecules of Murder by
Molecules of Murder is about infamous murderers and famous victims; about people like Harold Shipman, Alexander Litvinenko, Adelaide Bartlett, and Georgi Markov. Few books on poisons analyse these crimes from the viewpoint of the poison itself, doing so throws a new light on how the murders or attempted murders were carried out and ultimately how the perpetrators were uncovered and brought to justice. Part I includes molecules which occur naturally and were originally used by doctors before becoming notorious as murder weapons. Part II deals with unnatural molecules, mainly man-made, and they too have been dangerously misused in famous crimes. The book ends with the most famous poisoning case in recent years, that of Alexander Litvinenko and his death from polonium chloride. The first half of each chapter starts by looking at the target molecule itself, its discovery, its history, its chemistry, its use in medicine, its toxicology, and its effects on the human body. The second half then investigates a famous murder case and reveals the modus operandi of the poisoner and how some were caught, some are still at large, and some literally got away with murder. Molecules of Murder will explain how forensic chemists have developed cunning ways to detect minute traces of dangerous substances, and explain why some of these poisons, which appear so life-threatening, are now being researched as possible life-savers. Award winning science writer John Emsley has assembled another group of true crime and chemistry stories to rival those of his highly acclaimed Elements of Murder.
Forensic Pathology by
Medicolegal investigation of death is the most crucial and significant function of the medical examiner within the criminal justice system. The medical examiner is primarily concerned with violent, sudden, unexpected, and suspicious deaths and is responsible for determining the cause and manner of death, identifying the deceased, determining the approximate time of death and injury, collecting evidence from the body, issuing the death certificate, and documenting these events through an official autopsy report. The basis of the medicolegal investigation is forensic pathology. Written for both medical and investigative professionals, Forensic Pathology, Second Edition presents an overview of medicolegal investigative systems. Completely updated, the book examines investigative techniques and procedures that lead to obtaining accurate conclusions of death by homicide, accident, or suicide.
Handbook of Forensic Drug Analysis by
The Handbook of Forensic Drug Analysis is a comprehensive chemical and analytic reference for the forensic analysis of illicit drugs. With chapters written by leading researchers in the field, the book provides in-depth, up-to-date methods and results of forensic drug analyses. This Handbook discusses various forms of the drug as well as the origin and nature of samples. It explains how to perform various tests, the use of best practices, and the analysis of results. Numerous forensic and chemical analytic techniques are covered including immunoassay, gas chromatography, and mass spectrometry. Topics range from the use of immunoassay technologies for drugs-of-abuse testing, to methods of forensic analysis for cannabis, hallucinogens, cocaine, opioids, and amphetamine. The book also looks at synthetic methods and law enforcement concerns regarding the manufacture of illicit drugs, with an emphasis on clandestine methamphetamine production. This Handbook should serve as a widely used reference for forensic scientists, toxicologists, pharmacologists, drug companies, and professionals working in toxicology testing labs, libraries, and poison control centers. It may also be used by chemists, physicians and those in legal and regulatory professions, and students of graduate courses in forensic science.
How Science Works by
One week, red wine is good for the heart. The next week, new reports say it's bad for the health. So which is true? Anyone who's ever read science news with fascination, or who's ever been confounded by conflicting stories will appreciate this book. Taking a look at some true to lifecontemporary news stories, the author assesses recent studies on topics ranging from vitamin C and caffeine to pollution and cancer. With straight talk and a passion for the whole project of science, he demysifies the cult of the expert and sheds light on the nitty-gritty details of scientificprocesses. Any scientist loves a challenge, but the biggest challenge of all, observes Jenkins, is shared by scientists and nonscientitsts alike: how to make practical decisions in light of ambiguous evidence. Promising no simple answers, this book does offer excellent food for thought for peoplepondering that next glass of wine.
