LIBRARY HOURS
Monday-Thursday 8:00am - 8:00pm
Friday 8:00am - 7:00pm
Saturday 10:00am - 4:00pm
Sunday 12:00pm - 6:00pm
NEED HELP?
Email: askus@hilbert.edu
Call: (716) 926 8913
ILLIAD - New Way to Request Articles and Books
If we don't have access to an article or book, WE WILL FIND IT FOR YOU!
First time users of ILLIAD must fill in a form to create an account. After that your account will come up automatically. Users will now be able to check on the status of their requests by logging onto their account.
WHAT IS INTERLIBRARY LOAN (ILL)?
Interlibrary loan (ILL) is the process by which library materials are made available by one library to another.
HOW DO I SUBMIT A REQUEST?
If it is a book, please check the online catalog first to see if the item is owned by McGrath Library. We cannot fill requests for books that we own, even if the item is checked out. In the case of journal articles, there is an embedded ILL form in some of the article databases. Otherwise, please use the form at the top of this page or come into the Library and submit your request at the reference desk.
WHO IS ELIGIBLE TO USE ILL?
Current faculty, staff and students of Hilbert College.
WHAT MATERIALS CAN BE REQUESTED?
Books and copies of journal articles may be requested through ILL. Audio-visual and multimedia materials and textbooks are usually not available for loan, but they may be available. We cannot request entire issues of journals or computer software due to copyright law restrictions.
IS THERE A CHARGE?
Most of the time, we are able to obtain the materials you need free of charge. When we are not able to do so, you may be asked if you are willing to pay for the material before we order it.
HOW LONG DOES ILL TAKE?
We are committed to rapidly processing ILL requests. Articles usually arrive within a few days, while books can take approximately seven to ten days, although there are exceptions. Ultimately, delivery time depends on processing, mail and delivery method of the lending institution. Note also that there may be times when we are unable to successfully borrow the material you want, so we suggest that you start your research early.
HOW WILL MY MATERIAL BE DELIVERED?
Whenever possible, requested articles may be delivered via email; please see the ILL form or Chloe Santangelo, Interim Library Director, for more information. In all other cases, you may pick up your material at the reference desk any time that the Library is open. Items for faculty can be delivered to a campus mailbox. You will be contacted by telephone and/or email when your material is available.
HOW LONG CAN I KEEP ILL MATERIAL?
Photocopies of articles are yours to keep. Books borrowed through ILL may be checked out, with the due date depending on the lending library's policy. Books must be returned to the reference desk on or before the due date. If you need a renewal, please ask before the due date. Some lending libraries may not allow renewals, so plan your research accordingly. If a book is not returned, you will be responsible for paying a replacement fee.
A Pocket Style Manual by
Your students need clear, complete answers to their questions about research, writing, and grammar—and they often need them at a moment’s notice. As their teacher, you are their greatest resource, but you can’t be available 24/7. For help with work in class and at home and especially for questions at odd hours, students can turn to A Pocket Style Manual. The thoughtfully revised seventh edition makes it even easier for students to effectively and independently address their writing and research challenges. With 325 documentation models in four styles and coverage of drafting thesis statements, writing correctly and effectively, finding and evaluating sources, and writing research papers, A Pocket Style Manual supports writers across the disciplines. Our newest set of online materials, LaunchPad Solo, provides all the key tools and course-specific content that you need to teach your class. The LaunchPad Solo for A Pocket Style Manual includes exercises, sample student writing, and LearningCurve game-like adaptive quizzing. To package LaunchPad Solo free with A Pocket Style Manual, use ISBN 978-1-319-01282-3.
MLA Handbook by
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options