Includes a tour of the library and a quick discussion of library services available to students. Great for incoming students at the start of the semester.
A librarian will come into your classroom to introduce themselves and provide an overview of library services that are available to students. Typically best when done at the start of the semester.
Students receive a comprehensive overview of the services and resources at McGrath Library. This includes an introduction to accessing and searching databases, searching the catalog, and an overview of our research guides.
Students receive an in-depth introduction to the research process. This includes identifying scholarly sources, choosing a research topic, and a detailed introduction to searching the databases.
This includes most of the content covered in "Introduction to Research" but is tailored to a specific assignment. This session can include additional time during which students can begin searching the databases while the librarian is there to answer questions and provide guidance.
Have a librarian sit in your classroom on a day where students are working on research projects to offer individual research help to students.
These are examples of what we can offer. We work closely with faculty to create instruction sessions that best serve their students.
Note: Due to high demand, we may need to assess and potentially limit the number of sessions we can offer for a single course.
Students receive detailed instruction on a specific citation format (APA, MLA, etc) and on the importance of citing work. This includes an interactive component where students correct citations and/or create citations and references from examples.
Similar to our Research Guides, a librarian can develop course guides that dive into specialized topics with curated content and easy access to library resources.
McGrath Library has many services and resources available to help students achieve academic success. Librarians are available to help navigate these many resources we have. You can contact a librarian via email, book a research appointment, or visit the library during its open hours. Visit the McGrath Library to learn more at https://www.hilbert.edu/academics/library.
We are able to create videos on various library and research-related topics, including accessing databases, searching databases, using Google Scholar etc. These videos can be uploaded to Blackboard and available for students to use throughout the semester.
The librarian is embedded in the Blackboard course, allowing them to view the materials students are working with. Librarians can add resources and videos directly into the course, when applicable, and students can contact the librarian directly from within the course.
Click here to learn more about the Personal Online Librarian option.