Language and Learning in the Digital Age by
In Language and Learning in the Digital Age, linguist James Paul Gee and educator Elisabeth Hayes deal with the forces unleashed by today's digital media, forces that are transforming language and learning for good and ill. They argue that the role of oral language is almost always entirely misunderstood in debates about digital media. Like the earlier inventions of writing and print, digital media actually power up or enhance the powers of oral language. Gee and Hayes deal, as well, with current digital transformations of language and literacy in the context of a growing crisis in traditional schooling in developed countries. With the advent of new forms of digital media, children are increasingly drawn towards video games, social media, and alternative ways of learning. Gee and Hayes explore the way in which these alternative methods of learning can be a force for a paradigm change in schooling. This is an engaging, accessible read both for undergraduate and graduate students and for scholars in language, linguistics, education, media and communication studies.
Digital Multimedia by
Designed as the foundation text in multimedia, this book covers basic principles of each media type - text, graphics, audio, animation and video - describing their digitization and progressing onto issues that arise when media are combined; interaction provided by scripting and multimedia distributed over networks - principally the web. This edition completely updates content to address the XHTML standard and to add appropriate weight to XML content. There will be a web/Flash emphasis and proper coverage of MPEG4 and DVD in line with current technology trends. * New edition of a best-selling resource - now in FULL COLOUR throughout * Covers the basic principles of each media type-- text, graphics, audio, animation, and video * Updated content addresses the XHTML standard and adds appropriate weight to XML coverage * Includes a Web/Flash emphasis and thorough coverage of MPEG4 and DVD in line with current technology trends
Memory Bytes by
Digital culture is often characterized as radically breaking with past technologies, practices, and ideologies rather than as reflecting or incorporating them. Memory Bytes seeks to counter such ahistoricism, arguing for the need to understand digital culture--and its social, political, and ethical ramifications--in historical and philosophical context. Looking at a broad range of technologies, including photography, print and digital media, heat engines, stereographs, and medical imaging, the contributors present a number of different perspectives from which to reflect on the nature of media change. While foregrounding the challenges of drawing comparisons across varied media and eras, Memory Bytes explores how technologies have been integrated into society at different moments in time. These essays from scholars in the social sciences and humanities cover topics related to science and medicine, politics and war, mass communication, philosophy, film, photography, and art. Whether describing how the cultural and legal conflicts over player piano rolls prefigured controversies over the intellectual property status of digital technologies such as mp3 files; comparing the experiences of watching QuickTime movies to Joseph Cornell's "boxed relic" sculptures of the 1930s and 1940s; or calling for a critical history of electricity from the Enlightenment to the present, Memory Bytes investigates the interplay of technology and culture. It relates the Information Age to larger and older political and cultural phenomena, analyzes how sensory effects have been technologically produced over time, considers how human subjectivity has been shaped by machines, and emphasizes the dependence of particular technologies on the material circumstances within which they were developed and used. Contributors. Judith Babbitts, Scott Curtis, Ronald E. Day, David Depew, Abraham Geil, Sharon Ghamari-Tabrizi, Lisa Gitelman, N. Katherine Hayles, John Durham Peters, Lauren Rabinovitz, Laura Rigal, Vivian Sobchack, Thomas Swiss
New Media Cultures by
New Media Cultures provides a comprehensive analysis of the value of cultural studies in the face of new media, and the changes necessary for cultural studies to tackle the issues that new media presents. Drawing from the active audience thesis developed in cultural studies of the media, New Media Cultures focuses on the increased interactivity in contemporary culture and shows how this has become integrated into the production and consumption of cultural forms. Critical areas investigated include: - game culture - the internet - the digital transformation of film and television - intellectual property - forms of interactivity - the significance of the user and cultural production in new media New Media Cultures provides a unique approach for thinking about, and engaging with, the shifting media landscape and will be of great value for both students and scholars engaged in media and cultural studies.
Video Journalism by
Video journalism, the process by which one person shoots, writes, and edits video for broadcast or the web, is a form of newsgathering taking hold in newsrooms of all kinds, by professionals and would-be citizen journalists around the world. Some proponents have celebrated it as an improved narrative form, one that uses more intimate, emotional documentary filmmaking techniques than conventional television. Its detractors consider it simply a cheaper way to make news. Video Journalism: Beyond the One-Man Band weighs in on the controversy while addressing two overall concerns: What is video journalism, exactly? And how do the stories created by video journalists compare with other forms of news? This book presents more than two years of ethnographic research in a wide variety of contexts in the United States and the United Kingdom, including local newspapers, The New York Times, local television stations, the BBC, the Voice of America radio network, and several professional photographic workshops. In a departure from other news ethnographies, this book takes a somewhat unusual approach in that the author observes video journalists at work in the field, not just in newsrooms, on stories ranging from an urban shooting to a presidential campaign visit. This approach offers a fascinating insider perspective for those in the field as well as those who aspire to it.
Reporting and Producing for Digital Media (Media and Technology Series) by
While contemporary journalists must approach each story with the same respect for truth and fairness as their predecessors, additional rigors guided by a new skills set must now also be navigated. A pervasive online and cross-media presence defines journalism today. More than 4,000 newspapers in the United States alone have online sites. Academic programs in journalism and mass communication are reconfiguring their curricula to better prepare students for this media era. As digital journalism rapidly evolves, Reporting and Producing for Digital Media emerges as the definitive textbook. Author Artwick integrates sound journalistic perspective with the skills needed to research, report, write, and present news in a world of digital and converging media. The most recent title in Blackwell Publishing's Media and Technology series, featured topics in this volume include: functions of the press in a digital society; case studies illustrating core journalistic values; legal and ethical issues specific to the Internet; examples and exercises of interactive techniques that set digital storytelling apart; strategies from print and broadcast media that are appropriate for the Web and those that aren?t; framing stories and storytelling tools for the Web; working with photographs, shooting and editing digital video, creating still images from digital video, and planning Flash presentations; working and competing in convergent media. Fully illustrated and complete with chapter-ending activities for further learning, Reporting and Producing for Digital Media is the ideal text for emerging digital, converged journalism curricula, as well programs including digital media in their print and broadcast tracks.
Digital Journalism by
Today's journalists need a wide range of knowledge, technical skills, and digital savvy. In this innovative book, experts on digital journalism share their perspectives on what digital journalism is, where it came from, and where it may be going. Addressing some of the most important issues in new media and journalism, authors take on history, convergence, ethics, online media and politics, alternative digital sources of information, and cutting-edge technology, from multimedia web sites and 360-degree cameras to global satellite capabilities. Digital Journalism is a valuable resource for all journalism students and an intriguing read for anyone interested in the changing technology of news.
Video Journalism for the Web by
As newspapers and broadcast news outlets direct more resources toward online content, print reporters and photojournalists are picking up video cameras and crafting new kinds of stories with their lenses. Creating multimedia video journalism requires more than simply adapting traditional broadcast techniques: it calls for a new way of thinking about how people engage with the news and withnbsp;emerging media technologies. In this guide, Kurt Lancaster teaches students and professional journalists how to shoot better video and tell better stories on the web, providing a strong understanding of cinematic storytelling and documentary production so their videos will stand out from the crowd. Video Journalism for the Web introduces students to all the basic skills and techniques of good video journalism and documentary storytelling, from shots and camera movements to sound and editing--as well as offeringnbsp;tips for developing compelling, character-driven narratives and using social media to launch a successful career as a "backpack journalist." Shooting, editing, and writing exercises throughout the book allow students to put these techniques into practice, and case studies and interviews with top documentary journalists provide real-world perspectives on a career in video journalism. This book gives aspiringnbsp;documentary journalists the tools they need to get out in the field and startnbsp;shooting unforgettable multimedia stories.
The New Rules of Marketing and PR by
David Meerman Scotts marketing bible has become a modern day business classic. This is the book every ambitious, forward-thinking, progressive marketer or publicist has at the front of their shelf. Business communication has changed over the recent years. Creative ad copy is no longer enough. The New Rules of Marketing and PR has brought thousands of marketers up to speed on the changing requirements of promoting products or services in the new digital age. This is a one-of-a-kind, pioneering guide, offering a step-by-step action plan for harnessing the power of the Internet to communicate with buyers directly, raise online visibility, and increase sales. Its about getting the right message to the right people at the right time - for a fraction of the cost of a big-budget advertising campaign. This new, updated edition includes: A new introduction discussing recent changes to the world of marketing and PR A brand new chapter on mobile marketing An additional chapter on real-time marketing and PR Updated information on how to measure the success of your campaigns A range of new tools Fresh case studies
Engage! by
The ultimate guide to branding and building your business in the era of the Social Web?revised and updated with a Foreword by Ashton Kutcher Engage! thoroughly examines the social media landscape and how to effectively use social media to succeed in business?one network and one tool at a time. It leads you through the detailed and specific steps required for conceptualizing, implementing, managing, and measuring a social media program. The result is the ability to increase visibility, build communities of loyal brand enthusiasts, and increase profits. Covering everything you need to know about social media marketing and the rise of the new social consumer, Engage! shows you how to create effective strategies based on proven examples and earn buy-in from your marketing teams. Even better, you'll learn how to measure success and ROI. Introduces you to the psychology, behavior, and influence of the new social consumer Shows how to define and measure the success of your social media campaigns for the short and long term Features an inspiring Foreword by actor Ashton Kutcher, who has more than 5 million followers on Twitter Revised paperback edition brings the book completely up to date to stay ahead of the lightning fast world of social media Today, no business can afford to ignore the social media revolution. If you're not using social media to reach out to your customers and the people who influence them, who is?
Kellogg on Integrated Marketing by
This cutting-edge book-with contributions by the star faculty of the Kellogg School of Management and the Medill School of Journalism's Integrated Marketing Communications department at Northwestern University-offers the latest thinking on the art and science of integrated marketing. A must for today's marketing professional, Kellogg on Integrated Marketing addresses the daily activities of marketing managers and helps them enhance brand equity with new techniques and strategies from the experts. You'll hear from: - Eric G. Berggren - Stephen Burnett - Bobby J. Calder - Tom Collinger - Adam Duhachek - Lisa Fortini-Campbell - Nigel Hopkins - Dawn Iacobucci - Richard I. Kolsky - Maria Flores Letelier - Edward C. Malthouse - Francis J. Mulhern - Lisa A. Petrison - Andrew Razeghi - Don E. Schultz - Charles Spinosa - Paul Wang
The Long Tail by
What happens when the bottlenecks that stand between supply and demand in our culture go away and everything becomes available to everyone? "The Long Tail" is a powerful new force in our economy: the rise of the niche. As the cost of reaching consumers drops dramatically, our markets are shifting from a one-size-fits-all model of mass appeal to one of unlimited variety for unique tastes. From supermarket shelves to advertising agencies, the ability to offer vast choice is changing everything, and causing us to rethink where our markets lie and how to get to them. Unlimited selection is revealing truths about what consumers want and how they want to get it, from DVDs at Netflix to songs on iTunes to advertising on Google. However, this is not just a virtue of online marketplaces; it is an example of an entirely new economic model for business, one that is just beginning to show its power. After a century of obsessing over the few products at the head of the demand curve, the new economics of distribution allow us to turn our focus to the many more products in the tail, which collectively can create a new market as big as the one we already know. The Long Tail is really about the economics of abundance. New efficiencies in distribution, manufacturing, and marketing are essentially resetting the definition of what's commercially viable across the board. If the 20th century was about hits, the 21st will be equally about niches.
Perspectives on Social Media Marketing by
PERSPECTIVES ON SOCIAL MEDIA MARKETING addresses 89 of the most compelling and important issues that marketers face on a regular basis when it comes to social media, providing advice and insight on how to deal with each issue from the perspective of two thought leaders in this arena: Stephanie Agresta from Porter Novelli and B. Bonin Bough from PepsiCo. Together, they discuss what social media is, how it has changed the marketing landscape, how to implement a tactical and strategic social media plan across your organization, how to best measure the ROI of a social media campaign, and more.
Relocating Television by
For over half a century, television has been the most central medium in Western democracies - the political, social and cultural centrepiece of the public sphere. Television has therefore rarely been studied in isolation from its socio-cultural and political context; there is always something important at stake when the forms and functions of television are on the agenda. The digitisation of television concerns the production, contents, distribution and reception of the medium, but also its position in the overall, largely digitised media system and public sphere where the internet plays a decisive role. The articles in this comprehensive collection are written by some of the world's most prominent scholars in the field of media, communication and cultural studies, including critical film and television studies. Relocating Television offers readers an insight into studying television alongside the internet, participatory media and other technocultural phenomena such as DVDs, user-generated content and everyday digital media production. It also focuses on more specific programmes and phenomena, including The Wire, MSN, amateur footage in TV news, Bollywoodization of TV news, YouTube, fan sites tied to e.g. Grey's Anatomy and X Factor. Relocating Television will be highly beneficial to both students and academics across a wide range of undergraduate and postgraduate courses including media, communication and cultural studies, and television and film studies.
Reinventing Cinema by
For over a century, movies have played an important role in our lives, entertaining us, often provoking conversation and debate. Now, with the rise of digital cinema, audiences often encounter movies outside the theater and even outside the home. Traditional distribution models are challenged by new media entrepreneurs and independent film makers, usergenerated video, film blogs, mashups, downloads, and other expanding networks. Reinventing Cinema examines film culture at the turn of this century, at the precise moment when digital media are altering our historical relationship with the movies. Spanning multiple disciplines, Chuck Tryon addresses the interaction between production, distribution, and reception of films, television, and other new and emerging media.Through close readings of trade publications, DVD extras, public lectures by new media leaders, movie blogs, and YouTube videos, Tryon navigates the shift to digital cinema and examines how it is altering film and popular culture.
Introduction to Media Production by
Introduction to Media Production, Third Edition, provides students with a practical framework for all aspects of media production by addressing the technological and aesthetic changes that have shaped the industry. Offering both hands-on instruction and theoretical information, it provides a sound basis for the techniques, operations, and philosophies of media production in the new digital environment. The new edition has been updated throughout with detailed information on how digital processes have changed everything from shooting to editing to finishing. It includes content on the Internet, writing for the Internet, Graphics and Animation.
Design Fundamentals for New Media by
While design principles remain the same whatever the medium, digital technology can shape their application in a profound way. In this unique and timely book, design educator James Bennett introduces and examines the fundamental elements of design from the perspective of a generation of designers raised on "new media." Foundational design concepts are explored in full-page spreads that integrate text and artwork to illustrate contemporary approaches to designing for digital media. Combining timeless principles with leading-edge technology in a smart full-color package, Design Fundamentals for New Media opens the door to a rich and rewarding way of exploring modern design techniques.
Graphic Design That Works by
Consumers are blitzed with millions of images every day. Companies hoping to grab a consumer's attention need a memorable, eye-catching design-whether for a logo, an identity system, an in-depth promotional campaign, or a magazine that needs to stay fresh and strong month after month. Now as a competitively priced paperback, Graphic Design That Works looks at examples of logos, identities, promotions, brochures, and magazine design that have proven, successful track records. Quick-hit copy explores these designs from early conceptual stages to initial drafts and final execution, so whether you're a seasoned designer or a newcomer to the field, you can understand how and why the design came to be. Also included are tips from the experts who put these designs on the map. They tell what succeeded and what failed in their attempts to create designs that really work.