Comparative Criminal Justice Systems by
The revision of this best-selling book presents a comprehensive analysis of how various criminal justice systems throughout the world compare. New co-author Harry Dammer has extensively revised the text to reflect the latest trends and most up-to-date information on such hot topics as international crime control and corrections. By using a topical approach (examining various aspects of each system, such as policing, drugs, sentencing, and juvenile justice) rather than a country- by-country approach, the book gives students a more realistic understanding of the similarities and differences of each system. The authors use six "model" countries (China, England, Germany, Japan, Saudi Arabia, and France) to provide specific examples and explore historical, political, economic, social, and cultural influences on each system.
Administration and Management in Criminal Justice by
This textbook addresses all of the specialty areas in criminal justice management, devoting equal time to the unique requirements of each manager in the different branches of the criminal justice system.
Criminal Justice in the United States, 1789-1939 by
This book chronicles the development of criminal law in America, from the beginning of the constitutional era (1789) through the rise of the New Deal order (1939). Elizabeth Dale discusses the changes in criminal law during that period, tracing shifts in policing, law, the courts, and punishment. She also analyzes the role that popular justice - lynch mobs, vigilance committees, law-and-order societies, and community shunning - played in the development of America's criminal justice system. This book explores the relation between changes in America's criminal justice system and its constitutional order.
Genetic Justice by
National DNA databanks were initially established to catalogue the identities of violent criminals and sex offenders. However, since the mid-1990s, forensic DNA databanks have in some cases expanded to include people merely arrested, regardless of whether they've been charged or convicted of a crime. The public is largely unaware of these changes and the advances that biotechnology and forensic DNA science have made possible. Yet many citizens are beginning to realize that the unfettered collection of DNA profiles might compromise our basic freedoms and rights. Two leading authors on medical ethics, science policy, and civil liberties take a hard look at how the United States has balanced the use of DNA technology, particularly the use of DNA databanks in criminal justice, with the privacy rights of its citizenry. Krimsky and Simoncelli analyze the constitutional, ethical, and sociopolitical implications of expanded DNA collection in the United States and compare these findings to trends in the United Kingdom, Japan, Australia, Germany, and Italy. They explore many controversial topics, including the legal precedent for taking DNA from juveniles, the search for possible family members of suspects in DNA databases, the launch of "DNA dragnets" among local populations, and the warrantless acquisition by police of so-called abandoned DNA in the search for suspects. Most intriguing, Krimsky and Simoncelli explode the myth that DNA profiling is infallible, which has profound implications for criminal justice.
Fundamentals of Research in Criminology and Criminal Justice by
Fundamentals of Research in Criminology and Criminal Justice: With Selected Readings is a unique resource for understanding the multifaceted subject of research methods in the field of criminology and criminal justice, amply illustrated by carefully selected and edited research articles from the leading journals in the field. Each of these articles features an introduction, written to draw the student's attention to the specific concept(s) from the chapter that are illustrated in the article, and a series of questions about the article, designed to help the student think critically about and reflect on these concepts. In this way, students not only learn how to conduct research, but also learn why it is important to do so. Building off the widely adopted Fundamentals of Research in Criminology and Criminal Justice, the additional readings increase students' understanding of complex issues being investigated in the field today and how those issues are being researched. Additional instructor resources and study tools can be found online at study.sagepub.com/bachmanfrccjsr
Research Methods in Criminal Justice and Criminology by
"With masterful storytelling, Bergland and Hayes demonstrate how Lapham blended his ravenous curiosity with an equable temperament and a passion for detail to create a legacy that is still relevant today." --John Gurda In this long overdue tribute to Wisconsin's first scientist, authors Martha Bergland and Paul G. Hayes explore the remarkable life and achievements of Increase Lapham (1811-1875). Lapham's ability to observe, understand, and meticulously catalog the natural world marked all of his work, from his days as a teenage surveyor on the Erie Canal to his last great contribution as state geologist. Self-taught, Lapham mastered botany, geology, archaeology, limnology, mineralogy, engineering, meteorology, and cartography. A prolific writer, his 1844 guide to the territory was the first book published in Wisconsin. Asked late in life which field of science was his specialty, he replied simply, "I am studying Wisconsin." Lapham identified and preserved thousands of botanical specimens. He surveyed and mapped Wisconsin's effigy mounds. He was a force behind the creation of the National Weather Service, lobbying for a storm warning system to protect Great Lakes sailors. Told in compelling detail through Lapham's letters, journals, books, and articles, Studying Wisconsin chronicles the life and times of Wisconsin's pioneer citizen-scientist.
Criminology by
Across America, crime is a constant public concern. Criminology: Theory, Research, and Policy, Second Edition provides comprehensive coverage of the leading criminological theories using sociology, psychology, biology, and ecology to explain how and why crime occurs. The text combines classical criminology with timely topics including substance abuse, gang violence, Internet crimes, and terrorism. Using a social sciences approach, the authors discuss how criminology influences public policy throughout the text. Preview several sample chapters for this text now! Click on the additional information link for access to download sample chapters, or on the supplements tab at left to download sample instructor's ancillaries. Preview sample chapters for this text now! Files are in PDF format, requiring Adobe Reader. Samples are for professional review purposes only. Copying or redistributing these files is strictly prohibited. Chapter 1 - Crime and Criminology Chapter 3 - Neo-Classical Criminology Chapter 5 - Psychology and Crime Chapter 8 - Social Conflict and Crime Chapter 15 - Crimes of the Powerful
Caught by
The huge prison buildup of the past four decades has few defenders today, yet reforms to reduce the number of people in U.S. jails and prisons have been remarkably modest. Meanwhile, a carceral state has sprouted in the shadows of mass imprisonment, extending its reach far beyond the prison gate. It includes not only the country's vast archipelago of jails and prisons but also the growing range of penal punishments and controls that lie in the never-never land between prison and full citizenship, from probation and parole to immigrant detention, felon disenfranchisement, and extensive lifetime restrictions on sex offenders. As it sunders families and communities and reworks conceptions of democracy, rights, and citizenship, this ever-widening carceral state poses a formidable political and social challenge. In this book, Marie Gottschalk examines why the carceral state, with its growing number of outcasts, remains so tenacious in the United States. She analyzes the shortcomings of the two dominant penal reform strategies--one focused on addressing racial disparities, the other on seeking bipartisan, race-neutral solutions centered on reentry, justice reinvestment, and reducing recidivism. In this bracing appraisal of the politics of penal reform, Gottschalk exposes the broader pathologies in American politics that are preventing the country from solving its most pressing problems, including the stranglehold that neoliberalism exerts on public policy. She concludes by sketching out a promising alternative path to begin dismantling the carceral state.
Criminological Theory by
Building on the success of the First Edition, the Second Edition features 14 new selections, ranging from classic works to recent selections on social disorganization, deterrence, critical, and control balance theories. Two new sections have been added: The Origins of Modern Criminology and Developmental Theories: Crime and the Life Course. The other sections have been substantially revised, and new introductory essays provide overviews of the different theories and perspectives and their relationship to one another. The Second Edition also begins with a unique Guide for Readers - and essay that helps readers understand both the structure of criminological theory and how to use the book's readings most effectively. Brief introductions precede each individual reading, alerting readers to key points and building into a useful road map for the whole work.
Criminological Theory by
The most accessible and comprehensive book for criminological theory courses available today Criminological Theory: A Text/Reader provides the best of both worlds--substantial but brief authored sections on all of the major course topics, followed by carefully edited, policy-oriented, original research articles covering criminological theory from past to present and beyond. The 39 articles reflect both classic studies and state-of-the-art research. Pedagogical tools include the helpful "How to Read a Research Article" before the first reading, article introductions, photographs, and discussion questions that capture student interest and help them develop their critical thinking skills. Key Features Presents a succinct overview of criminological theory in the book's Introduction, which also briefly describes the organization and content of the book Includes a "How to Read a Research Article" guide tied to the first reading in the book, a perfect introduction to understanding how real-world research is organized and delivered in the journal literature Offers a "mini-chapter" introduction for each Section with figures, tables, and photos that present and illustrate basic concepts while providing a background for the readings that follow Includes three to six well-edited readings in each Section that highlight the policy implications of the research, vividly responding to the "So what?" question of how criminological theories apply in the real world Provides key terms, Web resources, and thought-provoking discussion questions for each reading and each Section to help students master the content and sharpen their critical thinking skills
Criminology by
Bestselling CRIMINOLOGY: THEORIES, PATTERNS, AND TYPOLOGIES, now in its Eleventh Edition, delivers the most comprehensive, in-depth analysis of criminological theory and crime typologies available. Offering unparalleled breadth and depth of coverage, this book is unrivaled in its strong research base and currency, with detailed coverage of green and transnational crime, two of the hottest issues in the field today. Packed with real-world illustrations, the Eleventh Edition includes cutting-edge seminal research, up-to-the-minute policy, newsworthy examples, and hundreds of new references. A proven author and authority in criminology and criminal justice, Dr. Siegel is renowned for his unbiased presentation of theories, issues, and controversies. Avoiding ideological biases, Siegel encourages readers to weigh the evidence and form their own conclusions.
Criminology
Criminal Justice Research Review
Criminal Justice Review
Journal of Crime & Justice
Journal of Criminal Justice Education
American Journal of Criminal Justice
Journal of Gang Research
Security Management