Fundamentals of Research in Criminology and Criminal Justice by
Fundamentals of Research in Criminology and Criminal Justice: With Selected Readings is a unique resource for understanding the multifaceted subject of research methods in the field of criminology and criminal justice, amply illustrated by carefully selected and edited research articles from the leading journals in the field. Each of these articles features an introduction, written to draw the student's attention to the specific concept(s) from the chapter that are illustrated in the article, and a series of questions about the article, designed to help the student think critically about and reflect on these concepts. In this way, students not only learn how to conduct research, but also learn why it is important to do so. Building off the widely adopted Fundamentals of Research in Criminology and Criminal Justice, the additional readings increase students' understanding of complex issues being investigated in the field today and how those issues are being researched. Additional instructor resources and study tools can be found online at study.sagepub.com/bachmanfrccjsr
Research Methods in Criminal Justice and Criminology by
"With masterful storytelling, Bergland and Hayes demonstrate how Lapham blended his ravenous curiosity with an equable temperament and a passion for detail to create a legacy that is still relevant today." --John Gurda In this long overdue tribute to Wisconsin's first scientist, authors Martha Bergland and Paul G. Hayes explore the remarkable life and achievements of Increase Lapham (1811-1875). Lapham's ability to observe, understand, and meticulously catalog the natural world marked all of his work, from his days as a teenage surveyor on the Erie Canal to his last great contribution as state geologist. Self-taught, Lapham mastered botany, geology, archaeology, limnology, mineralogy, engineering, meteorology, and cartography. A prolific writer, his 1844 guide to the territory was the first book published in Wisconsin. Asked late in life which field of science was his specialty, he replied simply, "I am studying Wisconsin." Lapham identified and preserved thousands of botanical specimens. He surveyed and mapped Wisconsin's effigy mounds. He was a force behind the creation of the National Weather Service, lobbying for a storm warning system to protect Great Lakes sailors. Told in compelling detail through Lapham's letters, journals, books, and articles, Studying Wisconsin chronicles the life and times of Wisconsin's pioneer citizen-scientist.
Criminological Theory by
The most accessible and comprehensive book for criminological theory courses available today Criminological Theory: A Text/Reader provides the best of both worlds--substantial but brief authored sections on all of the major course topics, followed by carefully edited, policy-oriented, original research articles covering criminological theory from past to present and beyond. The 39 articles reflect both classic studies and state-of-the-art research. Pedagogical tools include the helpful "How to Read a Research Article" before the first reading, article introductions, photographs, and discussion questions that capture student interest and help them develop their critical thinking skills. Key Features Presents a succinct overview of criminological theory in the book's Introduction, which also briefly describes the organization and content of the book Includes a "How to Read a Research Article" guide tied to the first reading in the book, a perfect introduction to understanding how real-world research is organized and delivered in the journal literature Offers a "mini-chapter" introduction for each Section with figures, tables, and photos that present and illustrate basic concepts while providing a background for the readings that follow Includes three to six well-edited readings in each Section that highlight the policy implications of the research, vividly responding to the "So what?" question of how criminological theories apply in the real world Provides key terms, Web resources, and thought-provoking discussion questions for each reading and each Section to help students master the content and sharpen their critical thinking skills
Criminology by
Bestselling CRIMINOLOGY: THEORIES, PATTERNS, AND TYPOLOGIES, now in its Eleventh Edition, delivers the most comprehensive, in-depth analysis of criminological theory and crime typologies available. Offering unparalleled breadth and depth of coverage, this book is unrivaled in its strong research base and currency, with detailed coverage of green and transnational crime, two of the hottest issues in the field today. Packed with real-world illustrations, the Eleventh Edition includes cutting-edge seminal research, up-to-the-minute policy, newsworthy examples, and hundreds of new references. A proven author and authority in criminology and criminal justice, Dr. Siegel is renowned for his unbiased presentation of theories, issues, and controversies. Avoiding ideological biases, Siegel encourages readers to weigh the evidence and form their own conclusions.
Criminology by
Across America, crime is a constant public concern. Criminology: Theory, Research, and Policy, Second Edition provides comprehensive coverage of the leading criminological theories using sociology, psychology, biology, and ecology to explain how and why crime occurs. The text combines classical criminology with timely topics including substance abuse, gang violence, Internet crimes, and terrorism. Using a social sciences approach, the authors discuss how criminology influences public policy throughout the text.
In Their Own Words by
The only anthology of its kind, In Their Own Words: Criminals on Crime, Sixth Edition, provides students with a nuanced perspective on how - and why - offenders make decisions that lead them to commit crimes. Featuring firsthand accounts from gang members, burglars, shoplifters, pimps, prostitutes, killers, robbers, addicts, rapists, drug smugglers, and white-collar offenders, the anthology helps students understand the offenders' motives, perceptions, decision-making strategies, and rationalizations forcrime. Brief introductions precede each reading, placing the offenders' words into a theoretical context.
Essential Criminology Reader by
Initially designed to accompany Mark Lanier and Stuart Henry's best-selling Essential Criminology textbook, this new reader is an up-to-date companion text perfect for all students of introductory criminology and criminological theory courses. The Essential Criminology Reader contains 30 original articles on current developments in criminological theory. Commissioned specifically for The Reader, these short essays were written by leading scholars in the field. Each chapter complements one of 13 different theoretical perspectives covered in Lanier and Henry's Essential Criminology text and contains between two and three articles from leading theorists on each perspective. Each chapter of The Reader features: a brief summary of the main ideas of the theory the ways the author's theory has been misinterpreted/distorted criticisms by others of the theory and how the author has responded a summary of the balance of the empirical findings the latest developments in their theoretical position policy implications/practice of their theory
Sociological Thought by
Designed as a first-line introductory text to the study of sociological thought, this book is now considered a classic in the field and is a top seller in the Third World for university courses in sociological theory. The perspective is cross-cultural.The main currents of sociological thought, says the authors, advanced by the founders and the later masters represent different times, various cultural contexts and the many intellectual cross current representatives of each's time period. Rigorously defined (and not necessarily appropriately), these early thoughts were merely ideas rather than soundly constructed theories for building blocks of theoretical development. They provide insights into and perspectives on the structure and functioning of social systems and the conceptual frameworks for their systematic analysis. The history of sociology, then, is the history of social thought. This volume provides a carefully constructed look into the emerging social thought of the twentieth century as reflected in the emerging discipline of sociology.
The Rules of Sociological Method by
First published in 1895: Emile Durkheim's masterful work on the nature and scope of sociology--now with a new introduction and improved translation by leading scholar Steven Lukes.The Rules of the Sociological Method is among the most important contributions to the field of sociology, still debated among scholars today. Through letters, arguments, and commentaries on significant debates, Durkheim confronted critics, clarified his own position, and defended the objective scientific method he applied to his study of humans. This updated edition offers an introduction and extra notes as well as a new translation to improve the clarity and accessibility of this essential work. In the introduction, Steven Lukes, author of the definitive biography Emile Durkheim: His Life and Work, spells out Durkheim's intentions, shows the limits of Durkheim's view of sociology, and presents its political background and significance. Making use of the various texts in this volume and Durkheim's later work, Lukes discusses how Durkheim's methodology was modified or disregarded in practice--and how it is still relevant today. With substantial notes on context, this user-friendly edition will greatly ease the task of students and scholars working with Durkheim's method--a view that has been a focal point of sociology since its original publication. The Rules of the Sociological Method will engage a new generation of readers with Durkheim's rich contribution to the field."
The Craft of Criminology - Travis Hirschi by
Travis Hirschi is one of the most cited criminologists of the twentieth century. His work has provoked controversy and heated debates about the causes of crime, proper research methods, and the most effective policies to prevent and control crime. Known as a spokesperson for social control theory, Hirschi always ties his ideas to the mode of investigation and the mode of investigation to substantive concerns. Theoretical contributions and research methodology have been twin driving forces throughout his career. This book contains representative selections of Hirshi's work over many years. It is remarkable how little is known about Hirschi's life and career. John H. Laub's introduction combines a discerning account of Hirschi's life and work, accompanied by an interview with the author. Laub's volume covers various topics: methodological issues; principles of casual analysis; criteria of causality; longitudinal research on crime; rules and the study of deviant behavior; correlations between crime and delinquency; control theory of delinquency; intelligence, causes, and prevention of delinquency; family structure and crime; theory of crime; crime and criminality; deviance; white collar crime; and juvenile justice systems. Now available in paperback, this is an invaluable text for courses in criminology, as well as a valuable addition to professional libraries.
Understanding and Controlling Crime - Lloyd Olin, David Farrington, James Q. Wilson by
In 1982 the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation created a small committee-the Justice Program Study Group (whose membership is listed at the end ofthis preface)-and posed to it what can hardly be regarded as an easy ques tion: "What ideas, what concepts, what basic intellectual frameworks are lack ing" to understand and to more effectively deal with crime in our society? Those who are acquainted with the work of the members of the Study Group will appreciate how many divergent views were expressed-divergent to the degree that some of us came to the conclusion that we were not a Study Group at all but rather a group being studied, an odd collection of ancient experimental animals serving some dark purpose of the Foundation. Eventually, however, a surprisingly strong concurrence emerged. We found we were impressed by the extent to which in our discussions we placed heavy reliance on the products of two types of research: first, those few longitudinal studies related to juvenile delinquency and crime that had been pursued in this country and, second, a few experimental studies that had sought to measure the consequences of different official interventions in criminal careers. These two research strategies had taught us much about crime and its control. Other strategies-case studies, cross-sectional surveys, participant observations, and similar techniques-had indeed been productive, but it was the longitudinal and experimental designs that firmed up the knowledge that the others helped to discover.
Social Learning Theory and the Explanation of Crime by
Social learning theory has been called the dominant theory of crime and delinquency in the United States, yet it is often misrepresented. This latest volume in the distinguished Advances in Criminological Theory series explores the impact of this theory. Some equate it with differential association theory. Others depict it as little more than a micro-level appendage to cultural deviance theories. There have been earlier attempts to clarify the theory's unique features in comparison to other theories, and others have applied it to broader issues. These efforts are extended in this volume, which focuses on developing, applying, and testing the theory on a variety of criminal and delinquent behavior. It applies the theory to treatment and prevention, moving social learning into a global context for the twenty-first century. This comprehensive volume includes the latest work, tests, and theoretical advances in social learning theory and will be particularly helpful to criminologists, sociologists, and psychologists. It may also be of interest to those concerned with current issues relating to delinquency, drug use/abuse, and drinking/alcohol abuse.
The Evolution of the Juvenile Court by
A major statement on the juvenile justice system by one of America's leading experts The juvenile court lies at the intersection of youth policy and crime policy. Its institutional practices reflect our changing ideas about children and crime control. The Evolution of the Juvenile Court provides a sweeping overview of the American juvenile justice system's development and change over the past century. Noted law professor and criminologist Barry C. Feld places special emphasis on changes over the last 25 years--the ascendance of get tough crime policies and the more recent Supreme Court recognition that "children are different." Feld's comprehensive historical analyses trace juvenile courts' evolution though four periods--the original Progressive Era, the Due Process Revolution in the 1960s, the Get Tough Era of the 1980s and 1990s, and today's Kids Are Different era. In each period, changes in the economy, cities, families, race and ethnicity, and politics have shaped juvenile courts' policies and practices. Changes in juvenile courts' ends and means--substance and procedure--reflect shifting notions of children's culpability and competence. The Evolution of the Juvenile Court examines how conservative politicians used coded racial appeals to advocate get tough policies that equated children with adults and more recent Supreme Court decisions that draw on developmental psychology and neuroscience research to bolster its conclusions about youths' reduced criminal responsibility and diminished competence. Feld draws on lessons from the past to envision a new, developmentally appropriate justice system for children. Ultimately, providing justice for children requires structural changes to reduce social and economic inequality--concentrated poverty in segregated urban areas--that disproportionately expose children of color to juvenile courts' punitive policies. Historical, prescriptive, and analytical, The Evolution of the Juvenile Court evaluates the author's past recommendations to abolish juvenile courts in light of this new evidence, and concludes that separate, but reformed, juvenile courts are necessary to protect children who commit crimes and facilitate their successful transition to adulthood.
A New Juvenile Justice System by
A New Juvenile Justice System aims at nothing less than a complete reform of the existing system: not minor change or even significant overhaul, but the replacement of the existing system with a different vision. The authors in this volume--academics, activists, researchers, and those who serve in the existing system--all respond in this collection to the question of what the system should be. Uniformly, they agree that an ideal system should be centered around the principle of child well-being and the goal of helping kids to achieve productive lives as citizens and members of their communities. Rather than the existing system, with its punitive, destructive, undermining effect and uneven application by race and gender, these authors envision a system responsive to the needs of youth as well as to the community's legitimate need for public safety. How, they ask, can the ideals of equality, freedom, liberty, and self-determination transform the system? How can we improve the odds that children who have been labeled as "delinquent" can make successful transitions to adulthood? And how can we create a system that relies on proven, family-focused interventions and creates opportunities for positive youth development? Drawing upon interdisciplinary work as well as on-the-ground programs and experience, the authors sketch out the broad parameters of such a system. Providing the principles, goals, and concrete means to achieve them, this volume imagines using our resources wisely and well to invest in all children and their potential to contribute and thrive in our society.
Do the Crime, Do the Time by
This book provides a fresh look at the way the United States is choosing to deal with some of the serious or persistent youth offenders: by transferring juvenile offenders to adult courts.
Why Girls Fight by
In low-income U.S. cities, street fights between teenage girls are common. These fights take place at school, on street corners, or in parks, when one girl provokes another to the point that she must either "step up" or be labeled a "punk." Typically, when girls engage in violence that is not strictly self-defense, they are labeled "delinquent," their actions taken as a sign of emotional pathology. However, in Why Girls Fight, Cindy D. Ness demonstrates that in poor urban areas this kind of street fighting is seen as a normal part of girlhood and a necessary way to earn respect among peers, as well as a way for girls to attain a sense of mastery and self-esteem in a social setting where legal opportunities for achievement are not otherwise easily available. Ness spent almost two years in west and northeast Philadelphia to get a sense of how teenage girls experience inflicting physical harm and the meanings they assign to it. While most existing work on girls' violence deals exclusively with gangs, Ness sheds new light on the everyday street fighting of urban girls, arguing that different cultural standards associated with race and class influence the relationship that girls have to physical aggression.
Juvenile Delinquency by
Juvenile Delinquency offers a timely and comprehensive look at the issues of criminal behavior and justice related to young persons. In this highly readable text, Donald J. Shoemaker grounds his readers with a historical perspective, then presents a series of sharply focused chapters on schooling, religion, and family, as well as sections on drug use, gangs, and female delinquency. With a strong emphasis on the importance of theory and practice, Juvenile Delinquency is a must-read for understanding crime and youth culture.
Transforming Juvenile Justice by
As juvenile justice dominates the headlines, the time has come to reexamine the history of this controversial institution. In Transforming Juvenile Justice, Steven L. Schlossman traces the evolution of the idea that young lawbreakers, or potential lawbreakers, merit special treatment. He closely examines the Milwaukee Juvenile Court and the Wisconsin State Reform School to reveal how Progressive theory--the belief that rehabilitation and careful oversight should replace punishment of delinquent youth--played out in practice. Since its original publication in 1977, Schlossman's history of the juvenile justice system contributed to the debate on the delinquency problem and remains a landmark study today. In an engaging new introduction for this fresh edition of his classic, Schlossman reveals his sources of inspiration and relates his discovery of the rare records that offered an exclusive glimpse into the Milwaukee court's day-to-day operations. His account of the changing definitions of delinquency and reformers' attempts to remedy it offers insights on dilemmas that continue to plague American society.
The History of Street Gangs in the United States by
This book is an historical account of the emergence of youth gangs and the transformation of these into street gangs in the United States. The author traces the emergence of these gangs in the four major geographical regions over the span of two centuries, from the early 1800s to 2012. The author's authoritative analysis explains gang emergence and expansion from play groups to heavily armed street gangs responsible for a large proportion of urban crimes, including drive-by shootings that often kill innocent bystanders. Nationwide, street gangs now account for 1 in 6 homicides each year, and for 1 in 4 in very large cities. In recent years, the number of gangs, gang members, and gang homicides increased, even though the U.S. has seen a sharp drop in violent and property crimes over the past decade. The author's historical analysis reveals the key contributing factors to transformation of youth gangs, including social disorganization that occurred following large-scale immigration early in American history and urban policies that pushed minorities to inner city areas and public housing projects. This analysis includes the influence of prison gangs on street gangs. The first generation of prison gangs emerged spontaneously in response to dangers inside prisons. The second generation was for many years extensions of street gangs that grew enormously during the 1980s and 1990s, particularly in large urban areas in which public housing projects have served as incubators for street gangs. The third generation of prison gangs is extremely active in street-level criminal enterprises in varied forms, often highly structured and well managed organizations that are actively involved in drug trafficking. In recent years, returning inmates are a predominant influence on local gang violence. Now, prison gangs and street gangs often work together in street-level criminal enterprises. This book identifies the most promising ways that gang violence can be reduced. The best long-term approach is a combination of gang prevention, intervention, and suppression strategies and programs. Targeted suppression of gang violence is imperative. Street-workers that serve as violence interrupters can break the cycle of contagious gang violence.
A World of Gangs by
For the more than a billion people who now live in urban slums, gangs are ubiquitous features of daily life. Though still most closely associated with American cities, gangs are an entrenched, worldwide phenomenon that play a significant role in a wide range of activities, from drug dealing to extortion to religious and political violence. In A World of Gangs, John Hagedorn explores this international proliferation of the urban gang as a consequence of the ravages of globalization.Looking closely at gang formation in three world cities-Chicago, Rio de Janeiro, and Capetown-he discovers that some gangs have institutionalized as a strategy to confront a hopeless cycle of poverty, racism, and oppression. In particular, Hagedorn reveals, the nihilistic appeal of gangsta rap and its street ethic of survival "by any means necessary" provides vital insights into the ideology and persistence of gangs around the world.This groundbreaking work concludes on a hopeful note. Proposing ways in which gangs might be encouraged to overcome their violent tendencies, Hagedorn appeals to community leaders to use the urgency, outrage, and resistance common to both gang life and hip-hop in order to bring gangs into broader movements for social justice.
Gangs in America III by
This is a revision of a popular anthology that examines contemporary gangs in the United States and law enforcement efforts to study and deal with them. It includes original essays from a broad array of gang researchers and experienced practitioners who work with gangs covering a wide variety of current topics and issues.
Understanding Contemporary Gangs in America by
This unique book provides readers with a comprehensive and contemporary perspective on gangs in America. Its current articles, written by national experts in the field, contain a variety of diverse viewpoints and contribute to a well-rounded understanding of gangs and their broad societal implications. KEY TOPICS A seven-part organization covers 1) understanding and defining gangs; 2) gender issues; 3) race and ethnicity; 4) gangs in prisons and schools; 5) violence and drugs; 6) gang victimization; and 7) gang prevention and intervention. For law enforcement, police, court personnel, prosecutors, public defenders, attorneys, lawyers, judges, prison/correction staff, social workers, educators, and government workers.
One of the Guys by
One of the Guys: Girls, Gangs, and Gender examines the causes, nature, and meaning of female gang involvement. Miller situates the study of female gang membership in the context of current directions in feminist scholarship and research on both gangs and female criminal offenders. Unique inits approach, this book is a comparative study that examines both gang members and nongang members to provide an accurate picture of the nature of gang life. The author draws on interviews from two contrasting cities, St. Louis, Missouri and Columbus, Ohio. While both cities have relatively new ganghistories, their socioeconomic conditions are notably different. The book opens with a foreword written by Malcolm W. Klein, a leading authority on youth gangs. Miller examines how and why girls join gangs; the nature of girls' involvement in gangs; how gang involvement shapes girls' participationin delinquency and their risk of victimization; and the ways in which gender affects their gang experience. Miller concludes by drawing out implications for gender and crime and the study of female lawbreaking. Written in a lively and personal style, One of the Guys: Girls, Gangs, and Genderincludes rich, extensive interviews offering fascinating excerpts from the girls themselves. Miller examines these dialogues in order to explore gender identities within gangs. One of the Guys: Girls, Gangs, and Gender is an ideal text for courses which focus on juvenile delinquency, women andcrime, gang activity, and female lawbreaking.
The Gang's All Queer by
The first inside look at gay gang members. Many people believe that gangs are made up of violent thugs who are in and out of jail, and who are hyper-masculine and heterosexual. In The Gang's All Queer, Vanessa Panfil introduces us to a different world. Meet gay gang members - sometimes referred to in popular culture as "homo thugs" - whose gay identity complicates criminology's portrayal and representation of gangs, gang members, and gang life. In vivid detail, Panfil provides an in-depth understanding of how gay gang members construct and negotiate both masculine and gay identities through crime and gang membership. The Gang's All Queer draws from interviews with over 50 gay gang- and crime-involved young men in Columbus, Ohio, the majority of whom are men of color in their late teens and early twenties, as well as on-the-ground ethnographic fieldwork with men who are in gay, hybrid, and straight gangs. Panfil provides an eye-opening portrait of how even members of straight gangs are connected to a same-sex oriented underground world. Most of these young men still present a traditionally masculine persona and voice deeply-held affection for their fellow gang members. They also fight with their enemies, many of whom are in rival gay gangs. Most come from impoverished, 'rough' neighborhoods, and seek to defy negative stereotypes of gay and Black men as deadbeats, though sometimes through illegal activity. Some are still closeted to their fellow gang members and families, yet others fight to defend members of the gay community, even those who they deem to be "fags," despite distaste for these flamboyant members of the community. And some perform in drag shows or sell sex to survive. The Gang's All Queer poignantly illustrates how these men both respond to and resist societal marginalization. Timely, powerful, and engaging, this book will challenge us to think differently about gangs, gay men, and urban life.