LibGuides: Business: Reliable Websites

Reliable Business Websites

Bplans Sample business plans are available for free, others can be purchased
Business Journals, The Public access to business journals for over 40 cities across America. Includes business and job information for large companies and regional news
Business USA Business information center for government aid, strategies, resources, news items and advice for business owners
Kauffman Foundation Enrepreneurship Homepage Tips and advice from successful entrepreneurs on a wide variety of topics
Kauffman Foundation Enrepreneurship Research Portal Extensive collection of resources relating to small business: links to statistical reports on economic trends, bankruptcies, and analyses of IRS income tax returns
MPlans Some sample marketing plans are available for free, others can be purchased from the publisher
National Foudation of Independent Business Articles and other resources on a wide variety of topics
ThomasNet Provides product information; manufacturers, suppliers, and links to company websites
U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) Includes plenty of resources such as sample plans, tips, toolkits and links
University HQ Helpful tools for determining which career path or job is best for you in the world of business

Bureau of Economic Analysis
GDP and related data from the national accounts programs of the U.S. Department of Commerce's Bureau of Economic Analysis
Business Wire For more than 50 years, Business Wire has been the global leader in press release distribution and regulatory disclosure
Economic History Online & Encyclopedia Economic histories and other information about economics
Economic Report of the President The annual report every February from the President’s office on the state of the economy
Federal Reserve Board Statistical Releases Statistical reports from the Federal Reserve
Federal Reserve Board Statistical Releases Statistical reports from the Federal Reserve
Measuring Worth An economic tool used for measuring the changing values of currency, inflation, and other economic statistical figures
National Center for Charitable Statistics Provides financial information about nonprofit entities, notably IRS information
World Trade Organization The WTO's databases and publications provide extensive access to trade and tariff data

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) Provides NAICS codes for industries via census website
Standard Industrial Classification System: (SIC) Provides the SIC codes for industries via OSHA website
Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS) Provides assistance for patents and trademarks
U.S. Department of Commerce The department works with businesses, universities, communities, and the Nation’s workers to promote job creation, economic growth, sustainable development, and improved standards of living for Americans. Through its 12 bureaus and nearly 47,000 employees located in all 50 states and territories and more than 86 countries worldwide, the Department administers critical programs that touch the lives of every American
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Website for patents and trademarks

Occupational Outlook Handbook (BLS) A guide to the occupational outlook for hundreds of occupations
O*Net Online Another career outlook website containing information about different careers, statistics and projections. Browsing by industry is also available. Closely linked with Bureau of Labor Statistics and USA.gov
Salary Expert Free salary reports by occupation and ZIP code
Salary.com Occupationally specific salary data by location with links to openings
OANDA Currency Converter Currency conversion rates and calculator

Congressional Budget Office (CBO)
Nonpartisan analysis for the U.S. Congress
CBO Cost Estimates Each year, CBO provides the Congress with several hundred formal cost estimates that analyze the likely effects of proposed legislation on the federal budget. The estimates are posted on CBO’s website in chronological order, and they are searchable by bill number, title, committee, and program area; each generally includes a description of the legislation, a statement about its estimated budgetary impact, and an explanation of the basis for that estimate
CBO Topics Browse between economic topics, types of publications, and Congressional session