Forensic Science: Find Books

Crime Scene Investigation by Alan G. Caddell; Jeffrey L. Krutsinger; Thomas F. Adams Focusing on the basics of crime scene investigation as it should be done by professionals, this book shows how to do a perfect job; its emphasis is on proven evidence, collection, and analysis. It provides a high level of relevant and realistic information needed to process crime scenes in today's environment. Generously illustrated with photographs, the book clearly demonstrates techniques used by field and lab personnel to preserve, process, and analyze a wide variety of evidence. Career profiles of working professionals in the field and actual case histories document how crime scene investigation is successfully used to solve crimes. For professionals in a variety of forensic science fields, including firearms examiners, fingerprint examiners, serologists, toxicologists, photographers, journalists, crime scene investigators, and and others in the field of law and law enforcement.

Crime Scene Staging Dynamics in Homicide Cases by Laura Gail Pettler Individuals who perpetrate murder sometimes pose or reposition victims, weapons, and evidence to make it look like events happened in a different way than what actually transpired. Until now, there has been scarce literature published on crime scene staging. Crime Scene Staging Dynamics in Homicide Casesis the first book to look at this practice, providing a methodology of identifying, analyzing, synthesizing, and evaluating the evidence of each case by learning to marry the physical evidence to the behavioral evidence. The book begins with the history of crime scene staging and includes many case examples that illustrate how, when, and why criminals stage crime scenes. The characteristics of crime scene stagers and their victims are examined along with the intent of crime scene staging and dynamics of the staged crime scene. In addition, coverage of forensic victimology explores the reasons why a person might become a victim and why, based on this, staging may be performed. The book emphasizes the importance of recognizing behavioral red flags which are often present in staged crime scenes. These indicators can be commonly overlooked by investigators when they focus only on the physical evidence of a crime scene. Early detection, crime scene analysis, and crime scene reconstruction of the staged crime scene are each supported--by the full body of literature and latest published research on staging as well as by proven real-world, field-based methodologies. The book identifies and describes various types of crime scene staging behavioral patterns, presenting the complications and challenges that crime scene staging presents for investigators. This book will be an invaluable tool for forensic scientists, investigators, homicide detectives, and law enforcement to understand all aspects of crime scene staging dynamics.

Principles of Forensic Toxicology by Barry Levine; American Association for Clinical Chemistry Staff (Contribution by)

Crime Scene Investigation Crime Scene Investigation offers an innovative approach to learning about crime scene investigation, taking the reader from the first response on the crime scene to documenting crime scene evidence and preparing evidence for courtroom presentation. It includes topics not normally covered in other texts, such as forensic anthropology and pathology, arson and explosives, and the electronic crime scene. Numerous photographs and illustrations complement text material, and a chapter-by-chapter fictional narrative also provides the reader with a qualitative dimension of the crime scene experience.

Handbook of the Real Crime Labs by Ashraf Mozayani; Carla Noziglia The goal of this handbook is to address the true workings of a major metropolitan crime lab, focusing on each section and explaining the capabilities and the limitations of the processes involved in the examination of forensic evidence. Topics include: the Investigation of a Crime Scene, Evidence Handling and Storage, and more

Forsensic Science by Salem Press Staff This completely updated, new edition of Forensic Science approaches its subject from multiple directions. One primary approach is from the points of view of forensic investigators. In addition to its core essays on subspecialties and allied fields, the se

Physical Evidence in Forensic Science by Henry C. Lee; Howard A. Harris

Forensic Science by William J. Tilstone; Kathleen Anne Savage; Leigh A. Clark

Bloodstain Pattern Analysis by Tom Bevel; Ross M. Gardner Objective establishment of the truth is the goal of any good crime scene investigator. This demands a consideration of all evidence available using proven scientific methodologies to establish objective snapshots of the crime. The majority of forensic disciplines shed light on the ¿who¿ of a crime, bloodstain pattern analysis is one of the most important disciplines to address ¿what¿ happened. Understanding the discipline, its underlying scientific basis, and how best to apply this knowledge is crucial in the investigator¿s quest for the truth. Internationally known experts in crime scene analysis, Tom Bevel and Ross M. Gardner explore bloodstain pattern analysis in depth, explaining what it is, how it is used, and the practical methodologies employed to achieve defensible results. Bloodstain Pattern Analysis with an Introduction to Crime Scene Reconstruction, Third Edition: Presents a specific and detailed taxonomy of bloodstain pattern characteristics Offers a full-color fold-out Decision Map to guide analysts through the classification process Uses full-color photos and diagrams to illustrate concepts Describes the theory, principles, and methodology for crime scene reconstruction Details proven, applicable scientific methodologies Emphasizes observable and reproducible results to mitigate accusations of subjectivity in evidence and testimony Provides more than 60% new or significantly revised information Offering practical advice and tips for novices and experienced professionals, this book employs clear, lucid, and reasoned scientific arguments to provide the tools to guide and focus any investigative effort. Captain Tom Bevel is a 27-year veteran of the Oklahoma City Police Department, retiring in 1996 as Commander of the Homicide, Robbery, Missing Persons, and Unsolved Homicide units. He is held in high esteem as a qualified expert in crime scene reconstruction and bloodstain pattern analysis in state, federal, and foreign courts. His knowledge and expertise as a crime scene consultant has been sought after in 45 US states and 11 foreign countries. He owns a forensic education and consulting company in his home state of Oklahoma. Ross M. Gardner retired as a Command Sergeant Major and Special Agent in 1999 after serving a total of 24 years in US Army law enforcement. Certified by the International Association for Identification as a Senior Crime Analyst for the past 16 years, Gardner is an active instructor and consultant throughout the United States in crime scene analysis, bloodstain pattern analysis, and crime scene investigation.

Principles of Bloodstain Pattern Analysis by Stuart H. James (Editor); Paul E. Kish (Editor); T. Paulette Sutton (Editor) As witnessed in landmark criminal cases, the quality and integrity of bloodstain evidence can be a crucial factor in determining a verdict. Since the first edition of Interpretation of Bloodstain Evidence at Crime Scenes was published, bloodstain pattern interpretation has continued to grow as a branch of forensic science. Revised and updated to reflect new technology and developments in the field, this third edition both expands the content to include new information, and replaces outdated theories of blood splatter physics with those more current. It also includes colored photography allowing readers to view other critical details in the stains.

Bloodstain Pattern Evidence by Anita Y. Wonder In Bloodstain Pattern Evidence, the concepts introduced in the author's first book, Blood Dynamics, are updated and applied to provide essential answers in the resolution of actual crimes. The book is accessible to all levels of investigators, regardless of academic background, and allows readers to develop a fundamental understanding of the underlying scientific principles behind bloodstain pattern evidence. Bloodstain Pattern Evidence builds on the fundamental ideas brought about by an understanding of Non-Newtonian dynamics, and illustrates through case work the practical forensic science applications of these principles to the analysis of bloodstain patterns.

Bloodstain Pattern Analysis with an Introduction to Crime Scene Reconstruction by Tom Bevel; Ross M. Gardner Objective establishment of the truth is the goal of any good crime scene investigator. This demands a consideration of all evidence available using proven scientific methodologies to establish objective snapshots of the crime. The majority of forensic disciplines shed light on the "who" of a crime, bloodstain pattern analysis is one of the most important disciplines to address "what" happened. Understanding the discipline, its underlying scientific basis, and how best to apply this knowledge is crucial in the investigator's quest for the truth. Internationally known experts in crime scene analysis, Tom Bevel and Ross M. Gardner explore bloodstain pattern analysis in depth, explaining what it is, how it is used, and the practical methodologies employed to achieve defensible results. Bloodstain Pattern Analysis with an Introduction to Crime Scene Reconstruction, Third Edition: Presents a specific and detailed taxonomy of bloodstain pattern characteristics Offers a full-color fold-out Decision Map to guide analysts through the classification process Uses full-color photos and diagrams to illustrate concepts Describes the theory, principles, and methodology for crime scene reconstruction Details proven, applicable scientific methodologies Emphasizes observable and reproducible results to mitigate accusations of subjectivity in evidence and testimony Provides more than 60% new or significantly revised information Offering practical advice and tips for novices and experienced professionals, this book employs clear, lucid, and reasoned scientific arguments to provide the tools to guide and focus any investigative effort. Captain Tom Bevel is a 27-year veteran of the Oklahoma City Police Department, retiring in 1996 as Commander of the Homicide, Robbery, Missing Persons, and Unsolved Homicide units. He is held in high esteem as a qualified expert in crime scene reconstruction and bloodstain pattern analysis in state, federal, and foreign courts. His knowledge and expertise as a crime scene consultant has been sought after in 45 US states and 11 foreign countries. He owns a forensic education and consulting company in his home state of Oklahoma. Ross M. Gardner retired as a Command Sergeant Major and Special Agent in 1999 after serving a total of 24 years in US Army law enforcement. Certified by the International Association for Identification as a Senior Crime Analyst for the past 16 years, Gardner is an active instructor and consultant throughout the United States in crime scene analysis, bloodstain pattern analysis, and crime scene investigation.

Footwear Impression Evidence by William J. Bodziak Reviewed and recognized as the most authoritative source in the field, this book describes the methods used worldwide to recover and identify footwear impressions from the scene of a crime. In this new edition, everything, including the original twelve chapters, bibliography, appendix, etc., has been clarified, updated and expanded. This edition includes updated and new information on recovery procedures and materials such as lifting, photography and casting; chemical enhancement; updated information about footwear manufacturing; footwear sizing; and known impression techniques and materials. WHAT'S NEW IN THE SECOND EDITION: Besides updating and expanding the twelve original chapters, Footwear Impression Evidence: Detection, Recovery and Examination, Second Edition adds three new chapters: one chapter on barefoot evidence, which concerns impressions made by the naked or sock-clad foot or those which remain in abandoned or discarded footwear; another new chapter on several cases in which the footwear impression evidence was of primary importance in bringing about a conviction or confession; and finally, a new chapter on the footwear impression evidence in the O.J. Simpson criminal and civil cases.

Fingerprints and Impressions by Brian Innes; Ronald L. Singer (Introduction by); Jane Singer

Fingerprints and Other Ridge Skin Impressions by Christophe Champod; Chris J. Lennard; Pierre Margot; Milutin Stoilovic The field of fingerprinting for personal identification and criminal investigation is progressing at a rapid rate. Numerous research projects are devoted to fingerprint detection techniques and identification issues, and recent debate focuses on the admissibility of fingerprint evidence in US courts. In light of these events, as well as the previous lack of one volume that brings together the scientific and legal aspects of this discipline, the time is ideal for an easily accessible resource that gathers together and analyzes the latest findings and techniques related to fingerprint science. Fingerprints and Other Ridge Skin Impressions features the insight of a recognized team of authorities, including contributors from a key institution for forensic research. Chapters cover all aspects of the subject including the formation of friction ridges on the skin, the deposition of latent prints, the detection and enhancement of such marks, recording of fingerprint evidence, and fingerprint identification itself. Recent advances in statistical interpretation, fingerprint detection techniques, and computer technology are also discussed in detail. This practical techniques manual is an ideal text for practitioners working in the field of fingerprint detection and identification, as well as anyone studying forensic science at the undergraduate and postgraduate levels. There is also sufficient background material for legal professionals and police in need of an introduction to the critical subject of fingerprinting.

Truth Machine by Michael Lynch; Simon A. Cole; Kathleen Jordan; Ruth McNally DNA profiling—commonly known as DNA fingerprinting—is often heralded as unassailable criminal evidence, a veritable “truth machine” that can overturn convictions based on eyewitness testimony, confessions, and other forms of forensic evidence. But DNA evidence is far from infallible. Truth Machine traces the controversial history of DNA fingerprinting by looking at court cases in the United States and United Kingdom beginning in the mid-1980s, when the practice was invented, and continuing until the present. Ultimately, Truth Machine presents compelling evidence of the obstacles and opportunities at the intersection of science, technology, sociology, and law.