Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There are two ways to put items on course reserve in the library:
If an item is owned by the library, you may email a list of materials you want placed on reserve to include the course name or number, and any restrictions or instructions.
If an item is your personal property, please drop off the materials at the reference desk and complete and attach a reserve request card you may obtain from the librarian.
Books on Reserve
Research Strategies by Writing research papers does not have to be the painful experience many people make it out to be. It is possible to develop significant skills in order to make the writing process much easier than you think. In Research Strategies, author William Badke offers a clear, simple, and often humorous roadmap for conducting research and navigating the vast new world of information and technology. In this, the fourth edition, Badke details the entire research paper process from start to finish. Research Strategies provides a plethora of insightful and helpful information, including: Finding and narrowing a topic Creating an outline Searching databases Understanding metadata Using library catalogs and journal databases Conducting Internet research Organizing research notes Writing the actual paper Research Strategies explains the skills and strategies you need to efficiently and effectively complete a research project from topic to finished product. With the information provided here, research doesn't have to be frustrating or boring. Badke's strategies present a sure path through the amazing and complex new world of information.
Call Number: Z710 .B23 2011
Publication Date: 2011-04-18
Call Number: Personal Disc
Publication Date: 2006-07-21
The Elements of Library Research by To do solid academic research, college students need to look beyond the computer search engine. This short, practical book introduces students to the important components of the information-seeking process. The Elements of Library Research provides a foundation for success in any research assignment, from a freshman paper to a senior thesis. Unlike guides that describe the research process but do not explain its logic, this book focuses entirely on basic concepts, strategies, tools, and tactics for research--in both electronic and print formats. Drawing on decades of experience with undergraduates, reference librarian Mary George arms students with the critical thinking skills and procedures they need to approach any academic project with confidence. Ways to turn a topic into a research question Techniques for effective online searches How to evaluate primary and secondary sources When and how to confer with reference librarians and faculty How to avoid plagiarism Glossary of key terms, from Boolean search to peer review Checklists, timelines, and hints for successful research projects
Call Number: Z710 .G44 2008
Publication Date: 2008-09-14
Seeking Meaning by First published in 1993, this book presents a new process approach to library and information services.
Call Number: Z711 .K84 2004
Publication Date: 2003-10-30
Evolving Internet Reference Resources by This reference provides both beginner and experienced researchers with a comprehensive overview of the key information sources available online in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. It is a guide to the best free and subscription-based Internet sites and services.
Call Number: Z711.47 .E97 2006
Publication Date: 2006-05-18
The College Student's Research Companion by Most students faced with writing a research paper probably start at the same place - Google. This new, cutting-edge edition of the highly acclaimed College Student's Research Companion is designed to save your students from fruitless and random Web searching. With up-to-date guidance for utilizing both the library and the Internet (including Google), students will learn to easily and effectively find the best information in all formats, print and electronic. Quaratiello begins with library organization basics, including how to use the OPAC, and moves through to the use of reference books, periodical indexes, online databases, and popular search engines and Web portals. She also covers how to evaluate information once it is found. Each chapter includes invaluable exercises that reinforce the instruction and guidance. Written in an easy, breezy style and filled with real-world examples,
Call Number: Z710 .Q37 2007
Publication Date: 2007-04-01
Learning to Learn by In today's world, students and workers need to know much more than just how to use a computer or surf the Internet. As an educator, you assume the awesome responsibility of helping them master essential information literacy skills to succeed in the high-speed environment in which we live. This simple, step-by-step guide is the perfect tool to accomplish that task It is designed to help students - from middle school through beginning college - move through the research process proficiently. Original exercises reinforce the discussion using the individual student's unique ideas and interests. Students will learn the meaning of information literacy, and how to: locate the right information; use traditional and online libraries; evaluate and identify authoritative sources; cite sources properly; and, turn research papers into something that displays their own ideas and ingenuity. The companion Web site features links to valuable Web pages, printable exercises, and additional instructional resources.
Call Number: ZA3075 .R54 2006
Publication Date: 2006-07-01
Intellectual Character by This title shows that intelligence is based more on attitudes and character traits than on innate abilities, and shows how intellectual traits and dispositions can be developed and cultivated in students to promote successful learning.
Call Number: LB1025.3 .R58 2002
Publication Date: 2002-04-29
100% Information Literacy Success by 100% INFORMATION LITERACY SUCCESS teaches you to develop crucial information skills to succeed in college and the workplace. This book is designed to actively help you develop skills beyond the classroom, focusing on those skills necessary for twenty-first-century learners and workers. Using hands-on learning activities and real-world applications, the text will teach you how to determine the nature and extent of information needed to solve a problem, how to access the information effectively, how to evaluate the information found, how to use the information for a specific purpose, and how to communicate the information effectively and legally.
Call Number: ZA3075 .A19 2015
Publication Date: 2014-01-08
100% Information Literacy Success by 100% Information Literacy Success is the fourth text in the 100% Success series, and serves as a guide to the information literacy standards as described by the American Library Association. This text instructs students and professionals on developing crucial information skills to succeed in today's academic and professional environments. 100% Information Literacy Success is designed for use as both a comprehensive textbook as well as an easily accessible reference supporting readers beyond the classroom. Using hands-on learning activities and real-world applications, the text teaches readers how to determine the nature and extent of information needed to solve a problem, how to access the information effectively, how to evaluate the information found, how to use the information for a specific purpose, and how to effectively and legally communicate the information. Features of the text include critical thinking exercises, reflection questions, hints, and step-by-step research guidance- all of which help students understand and apply crucial skills while becoming comfortable with independent research and effective presentation methods. The 100% Information Literacy Success text is accompanied by an online companion, which contains student practice exercises, web resources, and tips for developing effective written documents and presentations. Instructor resources include lesson plans, quizzes, and power point presentations for each chapter.
Call Number: ZA3075 .T394 2007
Publication Date: 2007-04-17
100% Information Literacy Success by 100% INFORMATION LITERACY SUCCESS teaches you to develop crucial information skills to succeed in college and the workplace. This book is designed to actively help you develop skills beyond the classroom, focusing on those skills necessary for twenty-first-century learners and workers. Using hands-on learning activities and real-world applications, the text will teach you how to determine the nature and extent of information needed to solve a problem, how to access the information effectively, how to evaluate the information found, how to use the information for a specific purpose, and how to effectively and legally communicate the information.
Call Number: ZA3075 .T394 2012
Publication Date: 2011-01-13