Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books on English Literature
Loving Literature by One of the most common--and wounding--misconceptions about literary scholars today is that they simply don't love books. While those actually working in literary studies can easily refute this claim, such a response risks obscuring a more fundamental question: why should they? That question led Deidre Shauna Lynch into the historical and cultural investigation of Loving Literature. How did it come to be that professional literary scholars are expected not just to study, but to love literature, and to inculcate that love in generations of students? What Lynch discovers is that books, and the attachments we form to them, have played a vital role in the formation of private life--that the love of literature, in other words, is deeply embedded in the history of literature. Yet at the same time, our love is neither self-evident nor ahistorical: our views of books as objects of affection have clear roots in eighteenth- and nineteenth-century publishing, reading habits, and domestic history. While never denying the very real feelings that warm our relationship to books, Loving Literature nonetheless serves as a riposte to those who use the phrase "the love of literature" as if its meaning were transparent. Lynch writes, "It is as if those on the side of love of literature had forgotten what literary texts themselves say about love's edginess and complexities." With this masterly volume, Lynch restores those edges and allows us to revel in those complexities.
Call Number: PR129.U5 L96 2015
Publication Date: 2015-01-19
The Politically Incorrect Guide to English and American Literature by What PC English professors don't want you to learn from . . . - Beowulf: If we don't admire heroes, there's something wrong with us - Chaucer: Chivalry has contributed enormously to women's happiness - Shakespeare: Some choices are inherently destructive (it's just built into the nature of things) - Milton: Our intellectual freedoms are Christian, not anti-Christian, in origin - Jane Austen: Most men would be improved if they were more patriarchal than they actually are - Dickens: Reformers can do more harm than the injustices they set out to reform - T. S. Eliot: Tradition is necessary to culture - Flannery O'Connor: Even modern American liberals aren't immune to original sin
Call Number: PR83 .K36 2006
Publication Date: 2006-10-01
The Cambridge History of Medieval English Literature by This is the first full-scale history of medieval English literature in nearly a century. Thirty-three contributors provide information on a vast range of literary texts and the conditions of their production and reception. The volume also contains a chronology, full bibliography and a detailed index. This book offers the most extensive account available of the medieval literatures so drastically reconfigured in Tudor England. It will prove essential reading for scholars of the Renaissance as well as medievalists, and for historians as well as literary specialists.
Call Number: PR255 .C36 2002
Publication Date: 2002-04-25
Old English Literature by Recognizing the dramatic changes in Old English studies over the past generation, this anthology gathers 21 contemporary critical writings on the prose and poetry of Anglo-Saxon England, from approximately the 7th to the 11th centuries. The contributors focus on texts most commonly read in introductory Old English courses while also engaging with larger issues of Anglo-Saxon history, culture and scholarship. Their approaches vary widely, encompassing disciplines from linguistics to psychoanalysis.
Call Number: PR171 .O44 2002
Publication Date: 2002-02-08
The Norton Anthology of English Literature by Firmly grounded by the hallmark strengths of all Norton Anthologies--thorough and helpful introductory matter, judicious annotation, complete texts wherever possible--The Norton Anthology of English Literature has been revitalized in this Eighth Edition through the collaboration between six new editors and six seasoned ones. Under the direction of Stephen Greenblatt, General Editor, the editors have reconsidered all aspects of the anthology to make it an even better teaching tool.
Call Number: PR1109 .N6 2006
Publication Date: 2005-12-22
The Oxford Companion to American Literature by For more than half a century, James D. Hart's The Oxford Companion to American Literature has been an unparalleled guide to America's literary culture, providing one of the finest resources to this country's rich history of great writers. Now this acclaimed work has been completely revised and updated to reflect current developments in the world of American letters. For the sixth edition, editors James D. Hart and Phillip Leininger have updated the Companion in light of what has happened in American literature since 1982. To this end, they have revised the entries on such established authors as Saul Bellow, Norman Mailer, and Joyce Carol Oates, and they have added more than 180 new entries on novelists (T. Coraghessan Boyle, Tim O'Brien, Louise Erdrich, Don De Lillo), poets (Rita Dove, Weldon Kees), playwrights (Wendy Wasserstein, August Wilson), popular writers (Stephen King, Louis L'Amour), historians (James M. McPherson, David Herbert Donald, William Manchester), naturalists (Aldo Leopold, Edward Abbey), and literary critics (Camille Paglia, Richard Ellmann). In addition, the Companion boasts more women's, African-American, and ethnic voices, with new entries on such luminaries as Charlotte Perkins Gilman, M.F.K. Fisher, William Least Heat-Moon, Ursula Le Guin, and Oscar Hijuelos, among many others. These additions represent only some of the revisions for the new edition. Of course, the basic qualities of the Companion that readers have grown to know and love over the years are as superb as ever. With over 5,000 total entries, The Oxford Companion to American Literature reflects a dynamic balance between past and contemporary literature, surveying virtually every aspect of our national literature, from the Pulitzer Prize to pulp fiction, and from Walt Whitman to William F. Buckley, Jr. There are over 2,000 biographical profiles of important American authors (with information regarding their styles, subjects, and major works) and influential foreign writers as well as other figures who have been important in the nation's social and cultural history. There are more than 1,100 full summaries of important American novels, stories, essays, poems (with verse form noted), plays, biographies and autobiographies, tracts, narratives, and histories. The new edition provides historical background and astute commentary on literary schools and movements, literary awards, magazines, newspapers, and a wide variety of other matters directly related to writing in America. Finally, the book is thoroughly cross-referenced and features an extensive and fully updated index of literary and social history. Ranging from Captain John Smith to John Updike, and from Anne Bradstreet to Anne Rice, the sixth edition of The Oxford Companion to American Literature is up to date, accurate, and comprehensive, a delight for both the casual browser and the serious student.
Call Number: REF PS21 .H3 1995
Publication Date: 1995-10-12
The Norton Anthology of African American Literature by Organized chronologically, this anthology of African-American literature brings together the work of 123 writers from 1746 to the present. This second edition features a varied selection of genres and a wealth of vernacular forms.
Call Number: PS508.N3 N67 2004
Publication Date: 2003-12-19
Victorian Poetry by This volume distils into two hundred pages some of the most influential poetry of the Victorian period. Distils into one volume the key poems of the Victorian era. Organised chronologically, allowing readers to perceive continuities and changes through the century. Includes a general introduction, giving readers an overview of the poets and the period. Represents texts in their entirety where possible.
Call Number: PR1223 .V53 2002
Publication Date: 2002-09-13
General Criticism & Theory
American Literary Realism, Critical Theory, and Intellectual Prestige, 1880-1995 by Focusing on key works of late nineteenth- and early twentieth-century American literary realism, Phillip Barrish traces the emergence of new ways of gaining intellectual prestige - that is, new ways of gaining cultural recognition as unusually intelligent, sensitive or even wise. Through extended readings of works by Henry James, William Dean Howells, Abraham Cahan and Edith Wharton, Barrish emphasises the differences between literary realist modes of intellectual and cultural authority and those associated with the rise of the social sciences. In doing so, he greatly refines our understanding of the complex relationship between realist writing and masculinity. Barrish further argues that understanding the dynamics of intellectual status in realist literature provides new analytic purchase on intellectual prestige in recent critical theory. Here he focuses on such figures as Lionel Trilling, Paul de Man, John Guillory and Judith Butler.
Call Number: PS374.R37 B37 2001
Publication Date: 2001-02-19
Literary Spaces by This critical anthology explores the global literature of the African world as a unit whose chartable African heritage is coupled with the diversities and adaptations of post-enslavement and post-colonial experiences. The text has a seminal introduction that defines comparative black literature by examining how mainstream studies have marginalized literatures of Africa and the diaspora by not grouping them as a unit that reflects the historical continuum of the global African literary endeavor. The volume excerpts literature from vast representatives of the African world and introduces critical foundations that lead students to reflect on commonalities and divergences of global African literatures, as well as the more practical exercises of writing and analysis.
Call Number: PN841 .T46 2007
Publication Date: 2007-08-01
The Routledge Dictionary of Literary Terms by A twenty-first century version of Roger Fowler s 1973 Dictionary of Modern Critical Terms, this latest edition of The Routledge Dictionary of Literary Terms is the most up-to-date guide to critical and theoretical concepts available to students of literature at all levels. With over forty newly commissioned entries, this essential reference book includes: an exhaustive range of entries, covering such topics as genre, form, cultural theory and literary technique new definitions of contemporary critical issues such as Cybercriticism and Globalization complete coverage of traditional and radical approaches to the study and production of literature thorough accounts of critical terminology and analyses of key academic debates full cross-referencing throughout and suggestions for further reading. Covering both long-established terminology as well as the specialist vocabulary of modern theoretical schools, The Routledge Dictionary of Literary Terms is an indispensable guide to the principal terms and concepts encountered in debates over literary studies in the twenty-first century."
Call Number: REF PN41 .D4795 2006
Publication Date: 2005-11-10
Literary Theory by Tackling literary theory for the first time can seem a daunting task, but it is also one of the most rewarding. Part of the successful Basics series, this accessible guide provides the first step in understanding theory, as the author: leads you through the major approaches to literature which are signalled by the term literary theory; places each critical movement in its historical (and often political) context; illustrates theory in practice with examples from much-read texts; suggests further reading for those especially interested in a particular critical approaches; and shows not only that theory can make sense but that it can radically change the way you read. Covering all the basics and much more, this book is aimed at anyone interested in how we read and why that matters.
Call Number: PN94 .B47 2001
Publication Date: 2001-05-18
Feminist Literary Theory and Criticism by With selections by more than 100 writers and scholars, the Reader is an ideal companion for literature surveys where critical and theoretical texts are featured, as well as a rich, flexible core text for advanced courses in feminist theory and criticism. The Reader can be packaged with the Norton Anthology of Literature by Women, Third Edition, at a substantial discount.
Call Number: PR1110.W6 F46 2007
Publication Date: 2007-08-21
Beginning Theory by Expanded second edition of this hugely successful introduction to literary theory, a book which has already proven itself as the first port of call for students - Two new chapters added which take account of the changes since the first publication (1995), and all bibliographies have been updated - Given approval by academics and teachers the world over as the clearest and most concise introduction in the area - A consistent bestseller for the last five years
Call Number: PN81 .B367 2002
Publication Date: 2002-09-07