FS 401 - Fingerprint Evidence (Reilly Nowak): eBooks

Forensic Entomology provides undergraduates with a concise introduction to the subject. The book is written with the clarity necessary for students starting out in entomology yet authoritative enough to prove useful for more experienced researchers. Worked examples of the necessary mathematics, including how to use excel to process data, coupled with lab protocols and self-assessment questions make the book an essential starting point in the subject. Assuming little prior knowledge of either biology or entomology the book provides information on identification, life cycles and ecology of insects presented in a forensic context. Information is conveyed in an accessible style with practical tasks and suggestions for further reading included in each chapter. Fully revised and updated to include new research in the field New chapter on aquatic forensic entomology New pictorial key to aid identification of species contributed by Dr. Krzysztof Szpila, Nicolaus Copernicus University, Poland Further coverage of civil applications of forensic entomology Practical tasks and further reading included to aid understanding Colour plate section and improved illustrations throughout to assist in the identification of insects associated with the corpse Approaches the topic from the dual perspectives of basic entomology and its forensic applications Covers the contributions to forensic investigations of both flies and beetles Provides information on culturing insects collected from crime scenes Guides students through the processes of writing entomological court reports and presenting in court alongside the scientific topics Extended coverage of PMI calculations, role of professional associations for forensic entomologists and sampling at the crime scene New sections to discuss the identification of traces of explosives found in larvae, puparia and pupae and DNA sampling from insects

A Companion to Forensic Anthropology presents the most comprehensive assessment of the philosophy, goals, and practice of forensic anthropology currently available, with chapters by renowned international scholars and experts. Highlights the latest advances in forensic anthropology research, as well as the most effective practices and techniques used by professional forensic anthropologists in the field Illustrates the development of skeletal biological profiles and offers important new evidence on statistical validation of these analytical methods. Evaluates the goals and methods of forensic archaeology, including the preservation of context at surface-scattered remains, buried bodies and fatal fire scenes, and recovery and identification issues related to large-scale mass disaster scenes and mass grave excavation.

Forensic Ballistics in Court: Interpretation and Presentation of Firearms Evidence is an accessible introduction to firearms and ballistics evidence and how this is analysed and presented as evidence in a court of law. The book approaches the subject in terms of the realities of case work, opening with a clear and illustrated explanation of the correct nomenclature for various weapon types and their parts. Ammunition is also extensively covered, again with annotated illustrations. Basic external and terminal ballistics, wounding capabilities are likewise covered to give an overview of the subject. A key aspect of the book covers the theory and philosophy behind striation matches and the associated statistics, how positive matches should be peer reviewed and the importance accreditation has on this subject. Gunshot residue formation and identification and the various methods used in its analysis are reviewed in depth. This includes a critical examination of the pros and cons of each type of examination and the evidential weight which can be applied to each method. Accessible and reader-friendly introduction to firearms and ballistics. Clarifies the limitations of firearms evidence. Extensive use of global case-studies throughout. Focus on the interpretation and assessment of the weight of firearms/ballistics evidence presented at court. Covers the importance of witness and accused statements and their interpretation in relation to the investigation under review. Includes coverage of gunshot residue collection, examination and interpretation and the potential for contamination of GSR samples. Includes numerous real life case studies that the author has dealt with over the past 45 years. Takes an applied approach to the subject.

In the post-Daubert era, forensic science disciplines are increasingly informed by robust, statistically-sound experimental research. The educational value of the well-documented case study, however, remains as important as ever. Emphasizing known contextual information, this volume serves as a case-driven guide to skeletal trauma analysis through the unique perspective of each chapter's authors. Both forensic anthropologists and pathologists contribute skeletal trauma cases covering a range of topics including child abuse, blunt force trauma, descents from height, plane crashes, sharp force trauma and dismemberment, gunshot wounds, blast trauma, and burned body interpretation. Several chapters also include a discussion of potentially confounding taphonomic influences such as animal scavenging, water immersion, burning, and extended postmortem intervals. Detailed descriptions with multiple supporting images allow the practitioner's skeletal trauma interpretation to be compared to the "answer" as it pertains to the known circumstances surrounding the traumatic events of each case.