100 Questions (and Answers) about Research Methods by
"How do I create a good research hypothesis?" "How do I know when my literature review is finished?" "What is the difference between a sample and a population?" "What is power and why is it important?" In an increasingly data-driven world, it is more important than ever for students as well as professionals to better understand the process of research. This invaluable guide answers the essential questions that students ask about research methods in a concise and accessible way. 100 Questions (and Answers) about Research Methods summarizes the most important questions that lie in those inbetween spaces that one could ask about research methods while providing an answer as well. This is a short book and intended for those individuals who need a refresher as to what the important topics are within this area of study as well as for those who are entirely new to the discipline and need a resource as to what the key questions are that one might ask. It's for graduate students preparing for comprehensive exams, researchers who need a reference, undergraduates in affiliated programs who will not be taking a primary course in research methods and anyone curious about how these tools can most effectively be used.
Methods in Educational Research by
Written for students, educators, and researchers, Methods in Educational Research offers a refreshing introduction to the principles of educational research. Designed for the real world of educational research, the book's approach focuses on the types of problems likely to be encountered in professional experiences. Reflecting the importance of The No Child Left Behind Act , "scientifically based" educational research, school accountability, and the professional demands of the twenty-first century, Methods in Educational Research empowers educational researchers to take an active role in conducting research in their classrooms, districts, and the greater educational community-activities that are now not only expected but required of all teachers.
The Oxford Guide to Library Research by
The information world has undergone drastic changes since the publication of the 3rd edition of The Oxford Guide to Library Research in 2005, and Thomas Mann, a veteran reference librarian at the Library of Congress, has extensively revised his text to reflect those changes. This book willanswer two basic questions: First, what is the extent of the significant research resources you will you miss if you confine your research entirely, or even primarily, to sources available on the open Internet? Second, if you are trying to get a reasonably good overview of the literature on aparticular topic, rather than just "something quickly" on it, what are the several alternative methods of subject searching - which are not available on the Web - that are usually much more efficient for that purpose than typing keywords into a blank search box, with the results displayed byrelevance-ranking computer algorithms?This book shows researchers how to do comprehensive research on any topic. It explains the variety of search mechanisms available, so that the researcher can have the reasonable confidence that s/he has not overlooked something important. This includes not just lists of resources, but discussionsof the ways to search within them: how to find the best search terms, how to combine the terms, and how to make the databases (and other sources) show relevant material even when you don't know how to specify the best search terms in advance. The book's overall structuring by nine methods ofsearching that are applicable in any subject area, rather than by subjects or by types of literature, is unique among guides to research. Also unique is the range and variety of concrete examples of what to do - and of what not to do. The book is not "about" the Internet: it is about the best alternatives to the Internet - the sources that are not on the open Web to begin with, that can be found only through research libraries and that are more than ever necessary for any kind of substantive scholarly research. More than anyother research guide available, this book directly addresses and provides solutions to the serious problems outlined in recent studies documenting the profound lack of research skills possessed by today's "digital natives."
HOW TO CHOOSE A TOPIC
*Many assignments will often narrow your choices of topics down to a specific subject or concept. But here are a few tips to help you find the right topic that will assist you in researching, synthesizing and writing a great research paper.
1.) Conduct Primary Research - Before selecting a topic, perform a couple of searches on Google, the Library catalog, and the Library research databases to find out if there are good sources on which to build your research. Conducting primary research may also illuminate other subjects that you may find more interesting. Occasionally, you may even find an article or book that sparks an interest in refuting or defending a topic. Here are four tips for choosing a topic:
- Select a topic the you already know a little about. Alternatively, choose a topic you are interested in and want to learn more about.
- Select a topic that you have a strong, yet informed opinion on.
- If you struggle to find sources about a topic, you may want to choose a different one.
- Ask a Librarian!
2.) List Different Places to Find Sources - Write down three to five different places you will go (physically or online) to find sources to support and validate your conclusions. These places should coincide with the research you are conducting. For example, if you are performing research on criminal justice, it would be a good idea to use places that store criminal justice information, like the Bureau of Justice Statistics, a government run body that collects research on crimes, law enforcement, and victims. If you are struggling to find places that will provide sources, ask a Librarian! We can help!
Here is an example:
SUBJECT: Community Policing
PLACES:
Library Book Catalog (Criminal Justice)
Library Article Databases (EBSCO Criminal Justice Abstracts, ProQuest Criminal Justice Database)
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS Online Government Source)
Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS.gov Government run agency)
Google Scholar (Google Scholar is DIFFERENT from the regular Google Search Engine in that it ONLY searches scholarly research articles. Some articles may not be available in full text, however, they may be available in the McGrath Library subscription databases - scholar.google.com).
3.) List Different Search Terms - Once you have a broad subject area, create a short list of key words (or search terms) that you can use to finds sources. Here is an example for Community Policing: Police, Neighborhood Policing, Neighborhood Law Enforcement, Police Programs, Neighborhood Crime Prevention.
4.) Begin Building a List of Sources - Build a list of three to five initial sources and read through them. Conducting research may change your original stance on your topic, it also may give you some ideas to include in your paper. Be sure to use the sources to support your original ideas and argument.
5.) Use Sources You Already Have to Find More Sources - Once you have a few initial sources, use the references that those sources utilize to find more. This is a process called "Backwards Chaining." For example, authors of a scholarly article will use dozens of other books and articles for their research, simply look through the reference list to investigate other sources. This may also help you to narrow down your topic area.
6.) Narrow or Broaden Your Topic - Conducting preliminary research can help you in two main ways. First, it will give you an idea on whether there will be enough informational sources to support your conclusions. If there seems to be very little information on a particular subject, you may want to change topics or broaden your focus. As you are skimming and/or reading your sources, you may find a specific aspect of your topic that you want to focus on. For example, you may want to focus your paper on community policing on the effectiveness of its implementation in the city of Chicago. If you are overwhelmed with information about your topic, it may be too broad. Broad topics may make the paper seem like it's lacking depth; if it is too narrow, you will restrict the flow of sources into your research.
Images from Emory Libraries: http://emory.libanswers.com/faq/44525