Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference Books at McGrath
The New York State Directory by The New York State Directory, published annually since 1983, is a comprehensive and easy-to-use guide to accessing public officials and private sector organizations and individuals who influence public policy in the state of New York.
Call Number: REF JK 3430 .N52 2013 v.1-2
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
Sports Market Place Directory by For over 20 years, this comprehensive, up-to-date directory has offered direct access to the Who, What, When & Where of the Sports Industry. With over 20,000 updates and enhancements, Sports Market Place Directory is the most detailed, comprehensive and c
Call Number: REF HD 9992 .U52 S66 2013
Publication Date: 2014-04-01
Occupational Outlook Handbook 2015-2016 by "The Occupational Outlook Handbook 2014-2015" is the most widely respected and used career reference available - and only JIST Publishing's version includes useful bonus content, including Personality-Career Quiz and a new Best OOH Jobs list. In JIST's 2014-2015 edition of the OOH features well written, interesting descriptions for more than 330 major jobs in the U.S., as well as summary information on additional jobs. For each job, the book discussed work tasks, job outlook through 2022, training and education needed, pay, work environment, similar occupations, and additional information sources. The book is packed with photos, charts, and practical, current information, which makes it invaluable for anyone doing career research, making career decisions, writing resumes, and preparing for interviews. This OOH includes another JIST Publishing exclusive: the Personality-Career Quiz, which matches readers to specific OOH jobs.
Call Number: REF OCC HD 5724 .O26 2017
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
Proquest Statistical Abstract of the United States 2015 by Questions come across the reference desk on all topics: Questions come across the reference desk on all topics: How many hate crimes were there in 2012? How many college lacrosse teams are there? Do you have the GDP for the U.S. for the past 10 (or so) years? How many people use social networks online? All of these questions can be answered by theProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States. Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best-known statistical reference publication in the country, and perhaps, the world. You ll find it behind nearly every reference desk in U.S. libraries as the authoritative go-to source. Librarians value the Statistical Abstract as both an answer book and a guide to statistical sources. As a carefully selected collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, it is a snapshot of America and its people. The Statistical Abstract print edition resembles the Census version that users know and love, plus more with: 1.Thousands of tables from hundreds of sources and valuable, detailed bibliographic documentation 2.Updated introductory sections and back-of-the-book index 3.8 1/2 x 11 hardcover format to withstand heavy use 4.25% larger type for easier reading Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information."
Call Number: REF HA 202 .P76 2016
Publication Date: 2014-12-05
Handbook of U. S. Labor Statistics 2015 by The Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics is recognized as an authoritative resource on the U.S. labor force. It continues and enhances the Bureau of Labor Statistics's (BLS) discontinued publication, Labor Statistics. The eighteenth edition allows the user to understand recent developments as well as to compare today's economy with past history. The Handbook is a comprehensive reference providing an abundance of data on a variety of topics including: .employment and unemployment; .earnings; .prices; .productivity; .consumer expenditures; .occupational safety and health; .union membership; .international labor comparisons; .and much more Features of the publication In addition to over 225 tables that present practical data, the Handbook provides: .introductory material for each chapter that contains highlights of salient data and figures that call attention to noteworthy trends in the data; .notes and definitions, which contain concise descriptions of the data sources, concepts, definitions, and methodology from which the data are derived; .references to more comprehensive reports which provide additional data and more extensive descriptions of estimation methods, sampling, and reliability measures. New in the 18th edition of Handbook of U.S Labor Statistics: .A section on worker displacement in Chapter 1 as well as a new section on local area unemployment statistics in Chapter 7 .Several new tables on occupational safety and health in Chapter 14 along with new information on employee benefits in Chapter 6 .Figures on a variety of topics including productivity, labor-management relations, prices, and workplace fatalities"
Call Number: REF HD 5724 .H28 2015
Publication Date: 2015-05-12
General Reference Sources & Databases
General Reference refers to generally asked questions. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories are good examples of reference sources. They are very good for initial inquiries. They serve the purpose of getting a small amoutn of information on a topic, which then can be used for more specific research later. Below are some good tools available through the open internet and through McGrath Library's online subscriptions.
It features content from hundreds of reference books in a broad range of subjects. Credo acts as an online encyclopedia. Use this tool to look for short encyclopedic articles on a number of topics
Oxford English Dictionary Online
OED online is a subscription based dictionary that contains the definitions of words, along with other supplemental information like etymology.
Statista Statistics Database
Click Here to Use Statista Database. This Database Holds Statistics, Information,Charts and Graphs from over 160,000 Government and Non-Government Organization Sources
US Newsstream [ProQuest]
Provides access to 50 national and regional newspapers