It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CJ 305 - Research Methods Course Guide : What is a Literature Review?
Use this guide as a reference to find Library resources for your CJ 305 class
A literature review discusses published information in a particular subject area.
A literature review can be a summary of the sources, but it usually has an organizational pattern and combines both summary and synthesis.
A summary is a recap of the important information of the source, but a synthesis is a re-organization of that information. It might give a new interpretation of old material or combine new with old interpretations.
A literature review is not an annotated bibliography in which you summarize briefly each article. While a summary is contained within the literature review, it focuses on and includes a critical analysis of the relationship among different works/sources.
Books on Literature Reviews at McGrath
The Literature Review by Lawrence A. Machi; Brenda T. McEvoyA clear, understandable six-step method for streamlining the literature review process! Written in user-friendly language, this resource offers master′s and doctoral level students in education and the social sciences a road map to developing and writing an effective literature review for a research project, thesis, or dissertation. Organized around a comprehensive and detailed six-step developmental model, the book provides guided exercises, graphics, charts, and examples from the everyday experiences of practitioners. Both novice and experienced researchers will find invaluable assistance for: Selecting a topic Searching the literature Developing arguments Surveying the literature Critiquing the literature Writing the literature review
100 Questions (and Answers) about Research Methods by Neil J. Salkind"How do I create a good research hypothesis?""How do I know when my literature review is finished?""What is the difference between a sample and a population?""What is power and why is it important?"In an increasingly data-driven world, it is more important than ever for students as well as professionals to better understand the process of research. This invaluable guide answers the essential questions that students ask about research methods in a concise and accessible way.
Call Number: H62 .S3195 2012
Publication Date: 2011-06-07
Types of Literature Reviews
Video Tutorial - Literature Review
FOR BEST PICTURE RESULTS, VIEW ON YOUTUBE PAGE (CLICK ON YOUTUBE LOGO)
Why Literature Reviews?
Why write a Literature Review?
Literature reviews provide a handy guide to a particular topic.
If you have limited time for research, literature reviews can give you an overview or act as a road map on the topic.
Literature Reviews condense research and information from various works/sources into one place.
Literature Review vs Academic Paper
How is a Literature Review different from an academic paper?
In an academic research paper, you use "the literature" as a foundation and as support for a new insight that you contribute.
In a literature review, the focus is to summarize and synthesize the arguments and ideas of others without adding new contributions.
Question 1.) What is a possible definition of a Literature Review?
A. A review on a single monograph in a journal like the New York Review of Books
B. A systematic review of the seminal and supporting works of scientific literature published on a particular topic
C. The articles published on current politics in The New York Times, The New Yorker, andthe Economist
(B). A Literature Review includes a complete collection of the important and seminal works on a topic.
Question 2.) What is a distinguishable characteristic of a Literature Review
A. It provides a substantive amount of previous research conducted by others
B. It is written in the third person
C. It is primarily, if not entirely, made up of citations from previous science
All of the Above. (A), (B), & (C) - A Literature Review provides an objective and disembodied voice that sums up all of the seminal and important research in a particular field. Literature Reviews often set the stage for a study that includes a methodology, results, conclusion, and discussion.
Question 3.) A Literature Review is primarily made up of
A. Your own opinion
B. Citations from other work
C. Survey results
(B). - A literature review is made up of a number of citations from the previously published work in a field.