Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bureau of Justice Statistics Mission
- BJS mission:
- To collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.
Bureau of Justice Statistics Homepage
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Archive of justice stats, great for CJ research. Includes statistics about criminal trials and prisons and other aspects of crime and law enforcement. There are numerous surveys containing data from a wide range of subjects and specific elements of the Justice System
Books on Justice Statistics at McGrath
Crime in the United States 2015 by Crime in the United States contains findings from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) of the offenses, known to law enforcement, released annually from its Uniform Crime Reporting Program. Because the FBI no longer prints these findings, Bernan Press continues to provide this practical information in convenient book form. In this intricately detailed source, legal and law enforcement professionals, researchers, and those who are just curious will find violent and property crime statistics for the nation as a whole and for regions, states, counties, cities, towns, and even college and university campuses. Crime in the United States includes statistics for: .Violent and property crimes .Hate crimes .Crime trends .Victims, by type What s new in Crime in the United States, 2015 .An additional 125 population group agencies reported crime statistics to the FBI for inclusion in the UCR reports, representing approximately 2.2 million more people and strengthening the usefulness and accuracy of the data contained in Crime in the United States .Beginning with this edition, the FBI has changed and widened the offense definition of rape and has overhauled the collection and analysis of all related data .This edition includes arrest data distribution by Hispanic/Latino and non-Hispanic/non-Latino ethnicity"
Call Number: REF HV 6787 .A374 2016
Publication Date: 2015-07-02
Justice Statistics by Bernan Press is pleased to present its first-ever comprehensive collection of justice statistics in the United States. This volume provides valuable information compiled by the Department of Justice, including its subsidiaries, the Bureau of Justice Statistics and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. Justice Statistics: An Extended Look at Crime in the United States is a special edition of Crime in the United States. It brings together nine key reports that fall under this category. Topics covered include capital punishment, rape and sexual assault among college-age women, correctional populations, crime in the United States, hate crimes, probation, parole, and law enforcement officers killed and assaulted. Tables in this volume provide a comprehensive account of each of these subjects. Each section contains statistical tables and figures highlighting the data, as well as a brief summary of the report s methodology and at-a-glance highlights of the most compelling information."
Call Number: REF HV 6787 J87 2015
Publication Date: 2015-10-27
Encyclopedia of the U. S. Census by The Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census, Second Edition updates and expands a critically-acclaimed resource for the history, politics, content, procedures and uses of the decennial census of the American population. The new edition highlights changes in the Census Bureau's data collection and dissemination practices for the 2010 enumeration, including the use of a short-form questionnaire for the actual population count, and the release in late 2010 of the American Community Survey (ACS) 5-year data set based on rolling samples of the U.S. population and gathered using the long-form questionnaire. The Second Edition also comprehensively covers the fallout from the 2000 census and recent issues affecting the administration of the 2010 count. Click here for a comprehensive guide to the American Community Survey.
Call Number: REF HA 37 .U55 E53 2012
Publication Date: 2011-10-17
BJS Principles & Practices
BJS Statistical Principles And Practices
The Bureau of Justice Statistics is a unit of the U.S. Department of Justice whose principal function is the compilation and analysis of data and the dissemination of information for statistical purposes. It adheres to the following principles and practices:*
A clearly-defined and well-accepted mission
A strong position of independence
Continual development of more useful data
Openness about the sources and limitations of the data provided
Wide dissemination of data
Cooperation with data users
Fair treatment of data providers
Commitment to quality and professional standards of practice
An active research program
Professional advancement of staff
Coordination and cooperation with other statistical agencies
Need Help With Bureau of Justice Statistics?
Contact Chris Hulsman, Electronic Resources & Systems Librarian
firstname.lastname@example.org OR (716) 926 8914
OR email@example.com OR (716) 926 8913