Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books on Fingerprint/Footprint Analysis
Footwear Impression Evidence by Reviewed and recognized as the most authoritative source in the field, this book describes the methods used worldwide to recover and identify footwear impressions from the scene of a crime. In this new edition, everything, including the original twelve chapters, bibliography, appendix, etc., has been clarified, updated and expanded. This edition includes updated and new information on recovery procedures and materials such as lifting, photography and casting; chemical enhancement; updated information about footwear manufacturing; footwear sizing; and known impression techniques and materials. WHAT'S NEW IN THE SECOND EDITION: Besides updating and expanding the twelve original chapters, Footwear Impression Evidence: Detection, Recovery and Examination, Second Edition adds three new chapters: one chapter on barefoot evidence, which concerns impressions made by the naked or sock-clad foot or those which remain in abandoned or discarded footwear; another new chapter on several cases in which the footwear impression evidence was of primary importance in bringing about a conviction or confession; and finally, a new chapter on the footwear impression evidence in the O.J. Simpson criminal and civil cases.
Call Number: HV8077.5 .F6 B63 2000 (1 COPY ON RESERVE)
Publication Date: 1999-09-17
Fingerprints and Other Ridge Skin Impressions by The field of fingerprinting for personal identification and criminal investigation is progressing at a rapid rate. Numerous research projects are devoted to fingerprint detection techniques and identification issues, and recent debate focuses on the admissibility of fingerprint evidence in US courts. In light of these events, as well as the previous lack of one volume that brings together the scientific and legal aspects of this discipline, the time is ideal for an easily accessible resource that gathers together and analyzes the latest findings and techniques related to fingerprint science. Fingerprints and Other Ridge Skin Impressions features the insight of a recognized team of authorities, including contributors from a key institution for forensic research. Chapters cover all aspects of the subject including the formation of friction ridges on the skin, the deposition of latent prints, the detection and enhancement of such marks, recording of fingerprint evidence, and fingerprint identification itself. Recent advances in statistical interpretation, fingerprint detection techniques, and computer technology are also discussed in detail. This practical techniques manual is an ideal text for practitioners working in the field of fingerprint detection and identification, as well as anyone studying forensic science at the undergraduate and postgraduate levels. There is also sufficient background material for legal professionals and police in need of an introduction to the critical subject of fingerprinting.
Call Number: HV6074 .F564 2004
Publication Date: 2004-04-27
Truth Machine by DNA profiling—commonly known as DNA fingerprinting—is often heralded as unassailable criminal evidence, a veritable “truth machine” that can overturn convictions based on eyewitness testimony, confessions, and other forms of forensic evidence. But DNA evidence is far from infallible. Truth Machine traces the controversial history of DNA fingerprinting by looking at court cases in the United States and United Kingdom beginning in the mid-1980s, when the practice was invented, and continuing until the present. Ultimately, Truth Machine presents compelling evidence of the obstacles and opportunities at the intersection of science, technology, sociology, and law.
Call Number: RA1057.55 .T78 2008
Publication Date: 2009-01-12
Handbook of Fingerprint Recognition by With their proven individuality and stability over time, fingerprints continue to be the most widely used physiological characteristic in systems that automatically recognize a person's identity. This handbook on automatic fingerprint recognition provides in-depth coverage of the most recent advances and practices. Readers will find comprehensive and authoritative coverage of all the major concepts, topics, and security methods associated with fingerprint recognition systems. Coverage includes: sensing, feature extraction and matching, synthetic fingerprint image generation, indexing, and multimodal systems. Features & Benefits: Covers the latest research in fingerprint-based recognition algorithms and techniques Provides introductory material on all components and modules of a fingerprint recognition system Examines design of secure fingerprint systems Contains helpful chapter overviews and summaries and consistent notation, for ease of use and accessibility Includes a DVD containing both the FVC2002 and FVC2000 fingerprint databases (full versions) and a demo version of SFinGe software (for synthetic fingerprint image generation) Integrates numerous supporting graphs, tables,
Call Number: HV6074 .H25 2003
Publication Date: 2005-03-10
Fingerprints and Other Ridge Skin Impressions by Since its publication, the first edition of Fingerprints and Other Ridge Skin Impressions has become a classic in the field. This second edition is completely updated, focusing on the latest technology and techniques#65533;including current detection procedures, applicable processing and analysis methods#65533;all while incorporating the expansive growth of literature on the topic since the publication of the original edition. Forensic science has been challenged in recent years as a result of errors, courts and other scientists contesting verdicts, and changes of a fundamental nature related to previous claims of infallibility and absolute individualization. As such, these factors represent a fundamental change in the way training, identifying, and reporting should be conducted. This book addresses these questions with a clear viewpoint as to where the profession#65533;and ridge skin identification in particular#65533;must go and what efforts and research will help develop the field over the next several years. The second edition introduces several new topics, including Discussion of ACE-V and research results from ACE-V studies Computerized marking systems to help examiners produce reports New probabilistic models and decision theories about ridge skin evidence interpretation, introducing Bayesnet tools Fundamental understanding of ridge mark detection techniques, with the introduction of new aspects such as nanotechnology, immunology and hyperspectral imaging Overview of reagent preparation and application Chapters cover all aspects of the subject, including the formation of friction ridges on the skin, the deposition of latent marks, ridge skin mark identification, the detection and enhancement of such marks, as well the recording of fingerprint evidence. The book serves as an essential reference for practitioners working in the field of fingermark detection and identification, as well as legal and police professionals and anyone studying forensic science with a view to understanding current thoughts and challenges in dactyloscopy.
Call Number: HV6074 .F564 2016
Publication Date: 2016-06-22
Books on Forensic Scientists
Inside the Cell by Josiah Sutton was convicted of rape. He was five inches shorter and 65 pounds lighter than the suspect described by the victim, but at trial a lab analyst testified that his DNA was found at the crime scene. His case looked like many others--arrest, swab, match, conviction. But there was just one problem--Sutton was innocent. We think of DNA forensics as an infallible science that catches the bad guys and exonerates the innocent. But when the science goes rogue, it can lead to a gross miscarriage of justice. Erin Murphy exposes the dark side of forensic DNA testing: crime labs that receive little oversight and produce inconsistent results; prosecutors who push to test smaller and poorer-quality samples, inviting error and bias; law-enforcement officers who compile massive, unregulated, and racially skewed DNA databases; and industry lobbyists who push policies of "stop and spit." DNA testing is rightly seen as a transformative technological breakthrough, but we should be wary of placing such a powerful weapon in the hands of the same broken criminal justice system that has produced mass incarceration, privileged government interests over personal privacy, and all too often enforced the law in a biased or unjust manner. Inside the Cell exposes the truth about forensic DNA, and shows us what it will take to harness the power of genetic identification in service of accuracy and fairness.
Call Number: KF9666.5 .M87 2015
Publication Date: 2015-10-06
Genetic Suspects by As DNA forensic profiling and databasing become established as key technologies in the toolbox of the forensic sciences, their expanding use raises important issues that promise to touch everyone's lives. In an authoritative global investigation of a diverse range of countries, including those at the forefront of these technologies' development and use, this book identifies and provides critical reflection upon the many issues of privacy; distributive justice; DNA information system ownership; biosurveillance; function creep; the reliability of collection, storage and analysis of DNA profiles; the possibility of transferring medical DNA information to forensics databases; and democratic involvement and transparency in governance, an emergent key theme. This book is timely and significant in providing the essential background and discussion of the ethical, legal and societal dimensions for academics, practitioners, public interest and criminal justice organisations, and students of the life sciences, law, politics, and sociology.
Call Number: RA1057.55 .G46 2010
Publication Date: 2010-08-12
The Real World of a Forensic Scientist by With the skyrocketing popularity of TV crime shows like CSI and CSI-Miami, interest in forensic science has reached unprecedented levels. However compelling these programs are as dramas, they spread many misconceptions about the real world of the forensic scientist. Students who wish to pursue a career in this field are often unaware of the many diverse career choices available or have superficial notions of the rigors involved. In this in-depth insider’s guide to this crucial area of criminal investigation, renowned forensic scientist Henry C. Lee, along with veteran forensic experts Elaine M. Pagliaro and Katherine Ramsland, provides a realistic picture of the education, skills, challenges, and rewards involved in the many specialties that encompass forensic science. All are used to unravel seemingly baffling crimes. The first part of the book highlights Dr. Lee’s personal story and forty-year career to demonstrate how forensic science developed in the twentieth century and came to be recognized by the courts and law enforcement as a crucial approach to investigating crimes. Dr. Lee shares many interesting stories about his experiences and those of his colleagues, who were instrumental in developing forensic science laboratories in the United States. The second part focuses on careers in forensic science, illustrated by descriptions of high profile cases that required different forensic disciplines, including engineering, accounting, psychology, crime scene investigation, and DNA analysis. These cases also underscore the importance of forensic evidence in criminal and civil cases, national security, environmental protection, and public safety. The third part presents the various specialties in forensic science created by the American Academy of Forensic Science; describes the types of evidence generally analyzed in each area; and lays out the steps one should take to prepare for a career in a particular specialty. Also included is useful information about professional organizations, certification programs and requirements, laboratory opportunities, and university forensic science programs. For those who wish to pursue a career in forensic science or for anyone who is interested in how criminal investigation is really done, this book is a must read.
Call Number: HV8073 .L394 2009
Publication Date: 2009-08-25
Books on Bloodstain Evidence
Principles of Bloodstain Pattern Analysis by As witnessed in landmark criminal cases, the quality and integrity of bloodstain evidence can be a crucial factor in determining a verdict. Since the first edition of Interpretation of Bloodstain Evidence at Crime Scenes was published, bloodstain pattern interpretation has continued to grow as a branch of forensic science. Revised and updated to reflect new technology and developments in the field, this third edition both expands the content to include new information, and replaces outdated theories of blood splatter physics with those more current. It also includes colored photography allowing readers to view other critical details in the stains.
Call Number: HV8077.5 .B56 J35 2005
Publication Date: 2005-05-26
Bloodstain Pattern Analysis by Used properly, bloodstain pattern analysis helps establish events asso ciated with violent crimes. As such, it is a critical bridge between f orensics and the ultimate goal of forensics, defining an accurate crim e reconstruction. The second edition of this bestselling book is thoro ughly updated to employ the latest protocols, including the applicatio n of scientific method, the use of flow charts, and the inter-relation ship of crime scene analysis to criminal profiling. It provides more i llustrations, including color photographs, and explains the use of com puter programs to create demonstrative evidence for court. Bloodstain Pattern Analysis aids forensic scientists, investigators, and attorney s in understanding violent crime scenes. It provides quick and accurat e information to help the reader understand blood stain pattern inform ation.
Call Number: HV8077.5 .B56 B48 2002
Publication Date: 2001-09-26
Scientific and Legal Applications of Bloodstain Pattern Interpretation by Since 1955 when Dr. Paul Kirk first presented a bloodstain evidence affidavit in State of Ohio v. Samuel Sheppard, expert testimony on bloodstain interpretation has gained wide acceptance in U.S. courts. Scientific and Legal Applications of Bloodstain Pattern Interpretation brings together some of the most respected and noted experts in forensic science, the law, and bloodstain interpretation to provide a comprehensive overview of the discipline. It discusses research, applications, and the current view of bloodstain pattern interpretation within the legal system at the trial and appellate court levels, as well as scientific approaches and developments in the field. Scientific and Legal Applications of Bloodstain Pattern Interpretation will help attorneys who are questioning and cross-examining expert witnesses have a good working knowledge of bloodstain interpretation. Included is a full-color atlas of bloodstains, in conjunction with a glossary of terms and an outline of basic laboratory experiments that are commonly used in the discipline. Among the outstanding contributions in this volume you will find: An excellent chapter by Carol Henderson discusses the legal and ethical aspects of bloodstain pattern evidence in detail. A post-conviction analysis by Marie Elena Saccoccio evaluates how bloodstain evidence can play a role in the appeal process. Misinterpretation and overinterpretation of bloodstain evidence can occur in our courts of law-be prepared to effectively analyze the evidence and the testimony with Scientific and Legal Applications of Bloodstain Pattern Interpretation.
Call Number: HV8077.5 .B56 S25 1999
Publication Date: 1998-06-29
Crime Scene Investigation by Focusing on the basics of crime scene investigation as it should be done by professionals, this book shows how to do a perfect job; its emphasis is on proven evidence, collection, and analysis. It provides a high level of relevant and realistic information needed to process crime scenes in today's environment. Generously illustrated with photographs, the book clearly demonstrates techniques used by field and lab personnel to preserve, process, and analyze a wide variety of evidence. Career profiles of working professionals in the field and actual case histories document how crime scene investigation is successfully used to solve crimes. For professionals in a variety of forensic science fields, including firearms examiners, fingerprint examiners, serologists, toxicologists, photographers, journalists, crime scene investigators, and and others in the field of law and law enforcement.
Call Number: HV8073 .A52 2004
Publication Date: 2003-01-16
Crime Scene Investigation Crime Scene Investigation offers an innovative approach to learning about crime scene investigation, taking the reader from the first response on the crime scene to documenting crime scene evidence and preparing evidence for courtroom presentation. It includes topics not normally covered in other texts, such as forensic anthropology and pathology, arson and explosives, and the electronic crime scene. Numerous photographs and illustrations complement text material, and a chapter-by-chapter fictional narrative also provides the reader with a qualitative dimension of the crime scene experience.
Call Number: HV8073 .F485 2011
Publication Date: 2010-11-16
Handbook of the Real Crime Labs by The goal of this handbook is to address the true workings of a major metropolitan crime lab, focusing on each section and explaining the capabilities and the limitations of the processes involved in the examination of forensic evidence. Topics include: the Investigation of a Crime Scene, Evidence Handling and Storage, and more
Call Number: HV8073 .F577 2006
Publication Date: 2005-12-01
Books on Forensic Science
Forsensic Science by This completely updated, new edition of Forensic Science approaches its subject from multiple directions. One primary approach is from the points of view of forensic investigators. In addition to its core essays on subspecialties and allied fields, the se
Call Number: REF HV 8073 .v.1 - v.3
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
Digital Crime and Forensic Science in Cyberspace by Digital forensics is the science of collecting evidence often used in a court of law to prosecute those who engage in digital activities that are deemed unlawful. Digital Crime and Forensic Science in Cyberspace is unique in putting together a number of contributions from leading experts in digital forensics and associated fields, making information on this new and complex subject available in one source of reference that addresses its multifaceted nature.The chapters in this book depict the nature of the crime and the motives of the criminals before proceeding to analyze the type of attacks one must understand in order to be prepared. Digital Crime and Forensic Science in Cyberspace also covers incident preparedness and the tools that are available to the digital investigator, as well as issues that pertain to the education and skills that this new professional must be able to display.
Call Number: HV6773 .D55 2006
Publication Date: 2006-04-30
Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences by The Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences is the first resource to provide comprehensive coverage of the core theories, methods, techniques, and applications employed by forensic scientists. One of the more pressing concerns in forensic science is the collection of evidence from the crime scene and its relevance to the forensic analysis carried out in the laboratory. The Encyclopedia will serve to inform both the crime scene worker and the laboratory worker of their protocols, procedures, and limitations. The more than 200 articles contained in the Encyclopedia form a repository of core information that will be of use to instructors, students, and professionals in the criminology, legal, and law enforcement communities. Key Features * Contains more than 200 articles written by international experts in the field * Outlines the most effective methods and techniques used in evidence collection, analysis, and investigation * Includes Further Reading lists in each article to allow easy access to the primary literature * Makes information easy to find with extensive cross-referencing (hyper-links in the electronic version), a complete index, and other aids to the reader * Includes a comprehensive glossary that defines nearly 900 forensic science terms * Provides many detailed photographs, figures, and tables to illustrate the text, plus color plate sections in each volume * Electronic version also available via ScienceDirect
Call Number: REF HV8073 .E58 2000 v.1-3
Publication Date: 2000-09-06
Forensic Science by This is a comprehensive reference source on the theory, techniques, and application of the various forensic sciences.The past decade has seen an explosion of interest in the application of scientific techniques to investigations of crime. Television audiences have developed a seemingly insatiable appetite for shows such as CSI: Crime Scene Investigation and Cold Case that go into the minutiae of how forensic techniques are used to solve crimes. ""Forensic Science"" examines this subject with a factual approach, while also addressing the kinds of topics that figure prominently in the media and offering up-to-date material in a rapidly changing field.Scope and coverage: ""Forensic Science"" approaches its subject from multiple directions. One of the primary approaches is from the points of view of forensic investigators. In addition to its core essays on subspecialties and allied fields, the set has essays on specific types of investigations, such as arson, homicide, and computer crime; both general and specific investigative techniques, such as autopsies, ballistics, chromatography, crime scene photography, fingerprint analysis, and polygraph analysis; specialized equipment, such as bomb and nuclear detection devices; and types of evidence, such as fire debris, fibers and filaments, glass, and blood residue and stains.A second broad approach taken by ""Forensic Science"" is its coverage of the role of forensic science in the American legal system. The set includes brief articles on some of the most important federal legislation applying to controlled substances, such as the Harrison Narcotic Act of 1914, and the Anabolic Steroid Act of 1990.A third broad approach taken by ""Forensic Science"" - and one that should have a wide appeal to many readers - is its extensive coverage of specific historical subjects. These range from overviews of ancient criminal cases and mysteries and ancient science in law and courtrooms to examinations of such high-profile modern cases as the O.J. Simpson murder trial, the Unabomber case, and famous Hollywood forensic cases. The set also includes essays on such subjects as the Lindberg baby kidnapping case and the exhumations of Presidents Zachary Taylor and Abraham Lincoln.Organization and format: The articles in ""Forensic Science"" contain helpful top matter that defines the topics and summarizes their relevance to forensic science and the Further Reading notes. The alphabetical arrangement makes topics easy to find. Additional finding aids include category and subject indexes and cross-references to related topics at the end of each essay. The appendixes include a biographical directory of key figures in the history of the field, a glossary, a directory of television shows in which forensic sciences figure prominently, and a time line of major events.
Call Number: HV 8073 .F5837 2009
Publication Date: 2015-06-01