LibGuides: CJ 204 Crime and Society: Home

City Research

The following links are good places to start looking for data about a specific city. Other places that are worth checking out are:

City police department websites. Many police departments post annual reports with data about crime and about initiatives that the departments are undertaking.
City Websites (.gov)

FBI Crime Data Explorer
The FBI's Crime Data Explorer (CDE) aims to provide transparency, create easier access, and expand awareness of criminal, and noncriminal, law enforcement data sharing; improve accountability for law enforcement; and provide a foundation to help shape public policy with the result of a safer nation.
Census Data
Learn about America's communities through our data profiles. They cover 100,000+ different geographies: states, counties, places, tribal areas, zip codes, and congressional districts.
City-Data
By collecting and analyzing data from a variety of government and private sources, we're able to create detailed, informative profiles for every city in the United States.
DataUSA
Data USA puts public US Government data in your hands. Instead of searching through multiple data sources that are often incomplete and difficult to access, our platform provides an open, easy-to-use platform that turns data into knowledge.

Databases for Scholarly Sources

Criminal Justice Abstracts /w Full Text [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Provide citations, abstracts, and Full Text from 590 criminal justice journals. Covers crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing
SocINDEX with Full Text [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of sociology, including the subjects of abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and violence
ProQuest Criminal Justice [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Provides research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security. It includes abstracts and indexing for 480 titles, with 225 available in full-text
Academic Search Premier [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
A GENERAL Academic Article Database that accesses over 13,000 journals and features Over 4,000 peer-reviewed journals in Full Text
Campus Research [Westlaw Next] This link opens in a new window
Provides news databases, newspapers, newswires, magazines, broadcast transcripts, business, trade, and professional journals. Also, more than 800 law reviews and journals, federal and state case law and the full text of the United States Code Annotated and Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)

Scholarly vs. Popular

Additional Search Help

Need help with APA?

Check out our in-depth guide on APA citations!

APA Citation and Formatting
by Melissa Laidman Last Updated Apr 8, 2024 22 views this year

City Newspaper Articles

McGrath Library has newspaper databases that you can use to search for articles from a particular city. Enter the city name and state into the search box and see what comes up!

Newspaper Source [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for 40 National and International Newspapers. In addition, it provides selected full text for more than 320 regional newspapers. There are also transcripts available from broadcast news programs
US Newsstream [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 50 national and regional newspapers

New York Times (Proquest)