Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction to Health Care Management by Introduction to Health Care Management is a concise, reader-friendly, introductory healthcare management book that covers a wide variety of healthcare settings, from hospitals to nursing homes and clinics. Filled with examples to engage the reader's imagination, the important issues in healthcare management, such as ethics, cost management, strategic planning and marketing, information technology, and human resources, are all thoroughly covered.Guidelines and rubrics along with numerous case studies make this text both student-friendly and teacher friendly. It is the perfect resource for students of healthcare management, nursing, allied health, business administration, pharmacy, occupational therapy, public administration, and public health."Drs. Buchbinder and Shanks have done a masterful job in selecting topics and authors and putting them together in a meaningful and coherent manner. Each chapter of the book is designed to give the student the core content that must become part of the repertoire of each and every healthcare manager, whether entry level or senior executive. Each of the chapters and accompanying cases serve to bring to life what it means to be a truly competent healthcare manager."--Leonard H. Friedman, PhD, MPA, MPH, Professor, Dept of Health Services Management and Leadership, and Director of the Master of Health Services Administration program, George Washington University, School of Public Health and Health Services "I am very happy with Health Care Management and will be adopting it for a new course that I will be teaching. This is probably the best management text I have seen so far. I was thrilled to receive it."--Sally K. Fauchald, PhD, RN, Assistant Professor of Nursing, The College of St. Scholastica "A solid text that covers a wide range of management topics."--Michael H. Sullivan, Director HCA Program, Methodist University, Fayetteville, North Carolina
Call Number: RA971 .I58 2012
Publication Date: 2011-07-19
Essentials of Public Health Preparedness by The public health community plays a vital role in identifying, responding to, containing, and recovering from emergencies. This book will introduce your students to the important and timely field of public health preparedness. The book presupposes no previous exposure to the concepts, yet provides enough depth for students who may have advanced knowledge. Divided into four parts, Public Health Preparedness explores: principles of public health preparedness; defining the problem; creating an infrastructure; and solving problems. Recent and current topics are examined such as weapons of mass destruction; the 9/11 commission findings; the National Incident Management System, and biosecurity.Part of the Jones & Bartlett Learning Essential Public Health series. Learn more at www.essentialpublichealth.com. Looking for more real-life evidence? Check out Cases 6, 19, & 21 in Essential Case Studies in Public Health, Putting Public Health into Practice.
Call Number: RA445 .K34 2013
Publication Date: 2011-09-16
Hospital Operations by By one estimate, the U.S. wastes $480 billion annually on healthcare expenditures that don't improve care. Worse, because of faulty systems - not personnel - up to 98,000 people die every year due to preventable medical errors - and that doesn't count non-terminal events such as hospital-acquired infections. In Hospital Operations, two leading operations management experts and four senior physicians demonstrate how to apply new OM advances to substantially improve any hospital's operational, clinical, and financial performance. Replete with examples, this bookshows how to diagram hospital flows, trace interconnections, and optimize flows for better performance. Readers will find specific guidance on improving emergency departments, operating rooms, hospital floors, and diagnostic units; and successfully applying metrics. Coverage includes: reducing ER overcrowding and enhancing patient safety...improving OR scheduling, enhancing organizational learning, and responding to surgeons and other stakeholders... improving bed availability, optimizing nurse schedules, and creating more seamless patient handoffs... reducing lab turnaround time, improving imaging responsiveness, and decreasing lab errors...successfully applying the right metrics for every facet of hospital performance. The authors conclude by previewing the "Hospital of the Future," addressing issues ranging from prevention and self-care to the evolution of technology and evidence-based medicine.
Call Number: RA971 .H575 2013
Publication Date: 2012-10-30
The Strategic Management of Health Care Organizations by A structured strategic management approach is what's needed to tackle the revolutionary change the health care system has been experiencing. Today, health care organizations have almost universally embraced the strategic perspective first developed in the business sector and now have developed strategic management processes that are uniquely their own. Health care leaders have found that strategic thinking, planning, and managing strategic momentum are essential for coping with the dynamics of the health care industry. Strategic Management has become the single clearest manifestation of effective leadership of health care organizations. The 7th edition of this leading text has been revised and updated to include a greater focus on the global analysis of industry and competition; and analysis of the internal environment. It provides guidance on strategic planning, analysis of the health services environment (both internal and external) and lessons on implementation. It also looks at organizational capability, sustainability, CSR and the sources of organizational inertia and competency traps.
Call Number: RA971 .D78 2013
Publication Date: 2013-02-28
Essentials of Public Health by Published in partnership with the American Public Health Association, this cornerstone text in the Jones & Bartlett Learning Essential Public Health series is an excellent introduction to the field of public health. Ideal for senior-level undergraduates or graduate students in public health, health science, health professions, or nursing, Essentials of Public Health focuses on the inner-workings of health departments and the role of public health professionals.This comprehensive text combines the best elements of Dr. Turnock's other two books: Public Health: What It Is and How It Works and Public Health: Career Choices That Make a Difference.The first set of chapters introduces defines and describes the public health system, provide concepts and tools for measuring health in populations, characterizes the relationship of the public health system with medical care and other elements of the overall health system, and identifies government's unique contributions through federal, state, and local public health agencies.The second set of chatpers focuses on public health careers within the context of the overall public health workforce. Basic information on the size and composition of the public health workforce is followed by chapters that address careers and jobs in public health administration, epidemiology, public health nursing, health education, and other professional and program titles and positions.With its clear, reader-friendly language and helpful learning tools such as chapter exercises and discussion questions, this is the ideal text to prepare your students for a career in public health.Updated and New Information in the Second Edition:- NACCHO Profile data from 2008 and 2010 surveys- Accreditation of public health agencies- Public health workforce development activities including thecredentialing of public health workers- Health reform provisions enacted in 2010- Updated and revised seciton on public health financing
Call Number: RA445 .T87 2012
Publication Date: 2011-02-14
Understanding Health Policy by Understand how the healthcare system works - and how you can succeed in it Covers the 2010 Affordable Care Act A Doody's Core Title for 2015! The most trusted and comprehensive guide to healthcare available, Understanding Health Policy provides everything students and professionals need to build a solid foundation on the field's most critical issues. Expert practitioners in both the public and private healthcare sectors, the authors cover the entire scope of our healthcare system--from the concepts behind policy decisions to concrete examples of how they affect patients and professionals alike. Understanding Health Policy, 6e makes otherwise difficult concepts easy to understand--so you can make better decisions, improve outcomes, and enact positive change on a daily basis. Features: Coverage of structure, organization, and financing of the health care system Key principles, descriptions, and concrete examples are skillfully interwoven in each chapter to make important issues interesting and understandable Clinical vignettes clarify difficult concepts and demonstrate how they apply to real-world situations Comprehensive list of review questions reinforce what you have learned Understanding Health Policy, 6e will help you develop a clearer, more systematic way of thinking about health care in the United States, its problems, and the alternatives for managing and solving these problems.
Call Number: RA410.53 .B63 2012
Publication Date: 2012-03-07
Selected Books on Marriage & Family Violence
Strengthening Couple Relationships for Optimal Child Development by Demonstrating the influence of couple relationships on parenting processes & child development, this book explores the determinants of couple functioning, relationship satisfaction & relationship stability.
Call Number: HQ503 .S77 2010
Publication Date: 2009-10-15
Marriage Markets by There was a time when the phrase "American family" conjured up a single, specific image: a breadwinner dad, a homemaker mom, and their 2.5 kids living comfortable lives in a middle-class suburb. Today, that image has been shattered, due in part to skyrocketing divorce rates, single parenthood, and increased out-of-wedlock births. But whether it is conservatives bewailing the wages of moral decline and women's liberation, or progressives celebrating the result of women's greater freedom and changing sexual mores, most Americans fail to identify the root factor driving the changes: economic inequality that is remaking the American family along class lines. In Marriage Markets, June Carbone and Naomi Cahn examine how macroeconomic forces are transforming our most intimate and important spheres, and how working class and lower income families have paid the highest price. Just like health, education, and seemingly every other advantage in life, a stable two-parent home has become a luxury that only the well-off can afford. The best educated and most prosperous have the most stable families, while working class families have seen the greatest increase in relationship instability. Why is this so? The book provides the answer: greater economic inequality has profoundly changed marriage markets, the way men and women match up when they search for a life partner. It has produced a larger group of high-income men than women; written off the men at the bottom because of chronic unemployment, incarceration, and substance abuse; and left a larger group of women with a smaller group of comparable men in the middle. The failure to see marriage as a market affected by supply and demand has obscured any meaningful analysis of the way that societal changes influence culture. Only policies that redress the balance between men and women through greater access to education, stable employment, and opportunities for social mobility can produce a culture that encourages commitment and investment in family life. A rigorous and enlightening account of why American families have changed so much in recent decades, Marriage Markets cuts through the ideological and moralistic rhetoric that drives our current debate. It offers critically needed solutions for a problem that will haunt America for generations to come.
Call Number: HQ536 .C348 2014
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
Family Violence Examines the entire spectrum of family violence, focusing onsocial processes and social relationships. The seventh edition of Family Violence: Legal, Medical, and Social Perspectivesby Harvey Wallace and Cliff Roberson is a comprehensive introduction to the study of family violence that guides readers to a better understanding of the challenges involved in reducing or eliminating violence. The six major topics are: domestic partner abuse, child abuse, elder abuse, physical and psychological abuse, identifying when abuse occurs, and discussing the effects of the various types of abuse or violence. Learning Goals Upon completing this book, readers will be able to: -Understand the facets of family violence. -Discuss how violence may be reduced or eliminated. -Identify how each major type of abuse impacts the social and law enforcement agencies that are involved.
Call Number: HV6626.2 .W35 2014
Publication Date: 2013-07-23
The Social Dynamics of Family Violence by This compelling new text explores family violence throughout the life course, with special attention to the social character and institutional causes of family violence. From child abuse and neglect to intimate partner violence and elder abuse, Hattery and Smith ask students to consider how social inequality, especially gender inequality, contributes to tensions and explosive tendencies in family settings. Students learn about individual preventative measures and are also invited to question the justice of our current social structure, with implications for social policy and reorganization. Hattery and Smith pepper the text with evocative case studies from their own research and illuminating stories published in mainstream media. Unique coverage of same-sex couples and multicultural couples, as well as of theory and methods, make this text an essential element of any course considering the sociology of family violence.
Call Number: HV6626 .H325 2012
Publication Date: 2012-03-06
Restorative Justice and Violence Against Women by Despite significant accomplishments over the past 35 years, antiviolence activists know that justice for most abused women remains elusive. Most victims do not call the police or seek help from the courts, making it crucial to identify new ways for survivors to find justice. This path-breaking book examines new justice practices for victims that are being used in the United States, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand. These informal, dialogue-based practices, referred to as "restorative justice," seek to decrease the role of the state in responding to crime, and increase the involvement of communities in meeting the needs of victims and offenders. Restorative justice is most commonly used to address youth crimes and is generally not recommended or disallowed for cases of rape, domestic violence, and child sexual abuse. Nevertheless, restorative practices are beginning to be used to address violent crime. Restorative Justice and Violence Against Women considers both the dangers and potential benefits of using restorative justice in response to these crimes. The contributors include antiviolence activists and scholars from the United States, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand. Some are strongly in favor of using restorative practices in these cases, some are strongly opposed, and many lie somewhere in between. Their chapters introduce a range of perspectives on alternative justice practices, offering rich descriptions of new programs that combine restorative justice with feminist antiviolence approaches. Controversial and forward-thinking, this volume presents a much-needed analysis of restorative justice practices in cases of violence against women. Advocates, community activists, and scholars will find the theoretical perspectives and vivid case descriptions presented here to be invaluable tools for creating new ways for abused women to find justice.
Call Number: HV6250.4.W65 R465 2010
Publication Date: 2009-11-16
Abused Men by An award-winning investigative journalist provides a disturbing new look at an underreported type of domestic violence—the abuse of men. * The latest research figures and up-to-date surveys on the prevalence of intimate partner violence against men * Personal interviews and cases drawn from media coverage of politicians and other public figures * A selected bibliography
Call Number: HV6626.2 .C65 2009
Publication Date: 2009-02-28
Just Married by The institution of marriage stands at a critical juncture. As gay marriage equality gains acceptance in law and public opinion, questions abound regarding marriage's future. Will same-sex marriage lead to more radical marriage reform? Should it? Antonin Scalia and many others on the right warn of a slippery slope from same-sex marriage toward polygamy, adult incest, and the dissolution of marriage as we know it. Equally, many academics, activists, and intellectuals on the left contend that there is no place for monogamous marriage as a special status defined by law. Just Married demonstrates that both sides are wrong: the same principles of democratic justice that demand marriage equality for same-sex couples also lend support to monogamous marriage. Stephen Macedo displays the groundlessness of arguments against same-sex marriage and defends marriage as a public institution against those who would eliminate its special status or supplant it with private arrangements. Arguing that monogamy reflects and cultivates our most basic democratic values, Macedo opposes the legal recognition of polygamy, but agrees with progressives that public policies should do more to support nontraditional caring and caregiving relationships. Throughout, Macedo explores the meaning of contemporary marriage and the reasons for its fragility and its enduring significance. His defense of reformed marriage against slippery slope alarmists on the right, and radical critics of marriage on the left, vindicates the justice and common sense of the emerging consensus. Casting new light on today's debates over the future of marriage, Just Married lays the groundwork for a stronger institution.
Call Number: HQ1034.U5 M23 2015
Publication Date: 2015-06-09
An Argument for Same-Sex Marriage by The relationship between religious belief and sexuality as personal attributes exhibits some provocative comparisons. Despite the nonestablishment of religion in the United States and the constitutional guarantee of free exercise, Christianity functions as the religious and moral standard in America. Ethical views that do not fit within this consensus often go unrecognized as moral values. Similarly, in the realm of sexual orientation, heterosexuality is seen as the yardstick by which sexual practices are measured. The notion that "alternative" sexual practices like homosexuality could possess ethical significance is often overlooked or ignored. In her new book, An Argument for Same-Sex Marriage, political scientist Emily Gill draws an extended comparison between religious belief and sexuality, both central components of one's personal identity. Using the religion clause of the First Amendment as a foundation, Gill contends that, just as US law and policy ensure that citizens may express religious beliefs as they see fit, it should also ensure that citizens may marry as they see fit. Civil marriage, according to Gill, is a public institution, and the exclusion of some couples from a state institution is a public expression of civic inequality. An Argument for Same-Sex Marriage is a passionate and timely treatment of the various arguments for and against same-sex marriage and how those arguments reflect our collective sense of morality and civic equality. It will appeal to readers who have an interest in gay and lesbian studies, political theory, constitutional law, and the role of religion in the contemporary United States.
Call Number: HQ1034.U5 G55 2012
Publication Date: 2012-08-21
Books on Dependency & Mental Illness
Movies and Mental Illness by Films are a powerful medium for teaching students of psychology, social work, medicine, nursing, counseling, and even literature or media studies about mental illness and psychopathology. An enjoyable and highly memorable supplementary teaching tool for abnormal psychology classes. Written by experienced clinicians and teachers, who are themselves movie aficionados, this book is superb not just for psychology or media studies classes, but also for anyone interested in the portrayal of mental health issues in movies. Helpful to laypersons wanting to learn more about psychopathology, to college-level instructors organizing a course on abnormal psychology, and for elective offerings to medical students and-or psychiatric residents who might enjoy a less formal, somewhat relaxing and 'fun' way to engage topics in psychopathology.
Call Number: RC459 .W444 2009
Publication Date: 2009-12-14
The Sequential Intercept Model and Criminal Justice by The number of individuals with severe mental illness in the criminal justice system is shockingly high. However, there is a wealth of research that shows that the traditional incarceration model is not effective with this population, and that many of these individuals can be helped in thecommunity at less cost without increased risk to public safety by addressing their risk-relevant needs and improving their opportunities for recovery. As a result, during the last decade there has been an increasing interest in community-based alternatives to incarceration for individuals withsevere mental illness. The Sequential Intercept Model and Criminal Justice offers an overview of the recent changes in correctional policy and practice that reflect an increased focus on community-based alternatives for offenders. Developed by Drs. Mark Munetz and Patricia Griffin, the Sequential Intercept Model (SIM)identifies five conceptual points at which standard criminal processing can be interrupted to offer community-based alternatives: (1) law enforcement/emergency services; (2) initial detention/initial court hearings; (3) jails/courts; (4) re-entry; and (5) community corrections/support. This volume describes the SIM in detail and reviews empirical evidence for each of its five points of interception. Chapters focus on its implementation, starting with an analysis of the national and state-level initiatives, then addressing specific challenges. A final section suggests how the SIMmight be applied successfully to other populations (e.g., veterans, juveniles, and those with developmental disabilities). This volume will appeal to policy makers who are considering community-based alternatives, practitioners who carry out these changes, and program evaluators who seek to documentthe impact of such changes.
Call Number: HV6133 .S39 2015
Publication Date: 2015-02-24
Concepts of Chemical Dependency by Doweiko's comprehensive text reflects the current explosion of information regarding the understanding, identification, and treatment of addictive disorders. In addition to his thorough examination of the use and abuse of alcohol, tobacco, barbiturates, amphetamines, cocaine, opiates, and hallucinogens, and his solid strategies for working with clients, Doweiko discusses topics frequently left out of other books--such as aerosols, steroids, and over-the-counter analgesics. Additionally, the text investigates such salient topics as the differences between abusers and addicts; drug effects on children, teenagers, and pregnant and nursing women; and children of alcoholics--ensuring that students gain a professional's understanding of one of the most pressing issues of our time.
Publication Date: 2005-07-06
Brain-Robbers by A psychiatrist examines how the world's four most important mind-altering substances— alcohol, cocaine, nicotine, and opiates—have played a significant role throughout human history, and explains how these powerful drugs affect the brain and cause addiction. * Presents a historical review of four plant-derived drugs—alcohol, cocaine, nicotine, and opiates—and their effects throughout human civilization, as well as a fascinating exploration of the mystery and misery of addiction * Provides comprehensive explanations of medical and psychiatric effects of these drugs * Supplies stories of people who made discoveries about these drugs or who had their lives altered by them * Describes the discovery of the way in which the brain works * Includes illustrations of brain pathways and of the four plants of origin for these drugs, and maps showing drug trade triangles
Call Number: RC564 .F735 2014
Substance Abuse by Weaving actual clinical examples with solid research,Substance Abusecontinues to provide counseling, social work, and other students with a detailed overview of the alcohol and other drug (AOD) field. Now in its Third Edition, this text provides updated coverage and practical clinical examples to reflect the rapid changes in the field of addiction. In a reader-friendly style, the authors present balanced coverage of various treatment models as well as objective discussions of the controversies in the field. The text covers topics spanning the entire field–pharmacology, assessment and diagnosis, treatment, recovery, prevention, children, families, and other addictions–providing students with a broad view of the AOD field as well as the pervasiveness of the problem in all areas of behavioral health and general fields.
Call Number: HV5825 .F566 2009
Publication Date: 2008-02-19
Substance Abuse Counseling by For first courses in Substance Abuse Counseling and Drugs and Behavior. Known for clarity, accessibility, and practicality, this widely-used text thoroughly examines substance abuse in the population, addressing both ways to measure the problem and how to treat individuals and families who seek assistance. It educates prospective clinicians and counselors by guiding them, step-by-step, through the process of working with substance-abuse clients. Chapter content builds in sequence; however, each chapter can be taken as a stand-alone source of valuable information. Individual chapters on special populations add substantial depth to the text's treatment of its subject.
Call Number: RC564 .S765 2005
Publication Date: 2004-05-27