Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Citation Guides in McGrath
LISTED BELOW ARE PRINT COPIES OF CITATION GUIDES LOCATED AT McGRATH LIBRARY
A Pocket Style Manual, 2016 MLA Update Edition by THIS TITLE HAS BEEN UPDATED TO REFLECT THE 2016 MLA UPDATES! Our editorial team has updated this text based on content from The MLA Handbook, 8th Edition. Browse our catalog or contact your representative for a full listing of updated titles and packages, or to request a custom ISBN.Your students need clear, complete answers to their questions about research, writing, and grammar—and they often need them at a moment’s notice. As their teacher, you are their greatest resource, but you can’t be available 24/7. For help with work in class and at home and especially for questions at odd hours, students can turn to A Pocket Style Manual. The thoughtfully revised seventh edition makes it even easier for students to effectively and independently address their writing and research challenges. With 325 documentation models in four styles and coverage of drafting thesis statements, writing correctly and effectively, finding and evaluating sources, and writing research papers, A Pocket Style Manual supports writers across the disciplines. Our newest set of online materials, LaunchPad Solo, provides all the key tools and course-specific content that you need to teach your class. The LaunchPad Solo for A Pocket Style Manual includes exercises, sample student writing, and LearningCurve game-like adaptive quizzing. To package LaunchPad Solo free with A Pocket Style Manual, use ISBN 978-1-319-01282-3.
Call Number: REF PE 1408 .H26 2016
Publication Date: 2016-07-05
MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.
Call Number: REF LB 2369 .G53 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by In addition to providing guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, this manual offers an authoritative reference and citation system. It also covers the treatment of numbers, statistical and mathematical data, tables and figures.
Call Number: BF 76.7 .P83 2010 c.2
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
APA Style 2009 by The POCKET GUIDE TO APA STYLE, 2009 APA Update, 3rd Edition, is an essential tool for writing research papers across the disciplines! Concise and thorough, the POCKET GUIDE offers straightforward explanations, annotated examples, and margin notes designed to help the writer produce properly documented papers in the latest APA style. Not only less expensive and easier to use than the APA Manual, the POCKET GUIDE also includes extensive coverage of electronic sources, preparing writers to both evaluate and correctly use Internet references in their research.
Call Number: REF BF76.7 .P47 2009
Publication Date: 2009-12-09
Call Number: CDR PN171 .F56 D75 2006
Publication Date: 2006-07-21
Citing Electronic Sources & Links to Citation Guides and Tools
The goal of a bibliographic citation is to allow the reader of a document to easily locate the information that was used to write that particular document. Professors require a bibliography, or list of references, with research papers.
If you use an electronic resource, e.g., a CD-ROM, the Internet, an online indexing service, or any other research tool accessed electronically, you must know how to cite that resource properly. Citing electronic resources is simple and similar to citing traditional sources. However, remember that:
- Citations are necessary so the reader can find the source.
- Be consistent in style. There are many styles to choose: MLA, APA, Turabian, etc. Use the style your professor requires or use one you prefer if given the choice.
- The date provided in some electronic resources is not the actual publication date. It could be the electronic publication date, which is the date the article was added to the electronic resource.
- Web site addresses (URLs) use upper and lower case letters as well as numbers and symbols. Be sure to write down the URL exactly.
- The Internet is always changing. A site you choose for a paper this semester may not be available next semester; so always be sure to include the date the site was viewed.
Online Resources to Help You Cite