Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books Available at McGrath
Proquest Statistical Abstract of the United States 2015 by Questions come across the reference desk on all topics: Questions come across the reference desk on all topics: How many hate crimes were there in 2012? How many college lacrosse teams are there? Do you have the GDP for the U.S. for the past 10 (or so) years? How many people use social networks online? All of these questions can be answered by theProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States. Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best-known statistical reference publication in the country, and perhaps, the world. You ll find it behind nearly every reference desk in U.S. libraries as the authoritative go-to source. Librarians value the Statistical Abstract as both an answer book and a guide to statistical sources. As a carefully selected collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, it is a snapshot of America and its people. The Statistical Abstract print edition resembles the Census version that users know and love, plus more with: 1.Thousands of tables from hundreds of sources and valuable, detailed bibliographic documentation 2.Updated introductory sections and back-of-the-book index 3.8 1/2 x 11 hardcover format to withstand heavy use 4.25% larger type for easier reading Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information."
Call Number: REF HA 202 .P76 2015
Publication Date: 2014-12-05
Occupational Outlook Handbook 2014-2015 by "The Occupational Outlook Handbook 2014-2015" is the most widely respected and used career reference available - and only JIST Publishing's version includes useful bonus content, including Personality-Career Quiz and a new Best OOH Jobs list. In JIST's 2014-2015 edition of the OOH features well written, interesting descriptions for more than 330 major jobs in the U.S., as well as summary information on additional jobs. For each job, the book discussed work tasks, job outlook through 2022, training and education needed, pay, work environment, similar occupations, and additional information sources. The book is packed with photos, charts, and practical, current information, which makes it invaluable for anyone doing career research, making career decisions, writing resumes, and preparing for interviews. This OOH includes another JIST Publishing exclusive: the Personality-Career Quiz, which matches readers to specific OOH jobs.
Call Number: REF OCC HD 5724 .O26 2015
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
O*NET Dictionary of Occupational Titles, Fourth Edition by This best-selling career reference puts the official job descriptions and other important information from the U.S. Department of Labor's massive O*NET (Occupational Information Network) database into useful and manageable print form. It provides high-quality, current labor market information covering nearly 100 percent of the workforce'a key consideration for anyone doing career and education research, writing resumes, and preparing for interviews.In addition to fresh occupational descriptions for about 950 O*NET jobs, the book provides a comprehensive treasure trove of information. Readers learn each job's education, training, and experience level; annual earnings; projected growth through 2014; number of people employed; number of annual openings; skills, abilities, and knowledge needed; work activities; RIASEC personality type; working conditions; work values; New Guide for Occupational Exploration interest area and number; Classification of Instructional Programs course titles; related Dictionary of Occupational Titles jobs; official O*NET code; and other job characteristics. Exclusive: A unique section called Six Easy Ways to Find O*NET Jobs of Interest helps readers determine and look up the job descriptions that interest them most. New to this edition:Completely updated job descriptions and data.All of the new jobs in the latest O*NET database, including new high-tech occupations.A list of related Occupational Outlook Handbook job titles for each O*NET job for easy cross-referencing.Another easy way to find O*NET jobs of interest: A new chart links 5,700 military job titles to civilian occupations for easy reference by transitioning military.The jobs are organized by Standard Occupational Codes (SOC), which arrange occupations into clusters of related jobs for easy career exploration and research. The new edition is based on O*NET 10, the latest version of the database. The O*NET replaces the Dictionary of Occupational Titles as the nation's primary and official source of occupational information.
Call Number: OCC REF HB 2595 .O16 2007
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Handbook of Labor Statistics 2015 by
Call Number: ON ORDER
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
The Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics is recognized as an authoritative resource on the U.S. labor force. It continues and enhances the Bureau of Labor Statistics's (BLS) discontinued publication, Labor Statistics. The seventeenth edition allows the user to understand recent developments as well as to compare today's economy with past history. The handbook is a comprehensive reference providing an abundance of data on a variety of topics including: employment and unemployment;earnings;prices;productivity;consumer expenditures;occupational safety and health;union membership;international labor comparisons;and much more Features of the publicationIn addition to over 200 tables that present practical data, the Handbook provides: introductory material for each chapter that contains highlights of salient data and figures that call attention to noteworthy trends in the data;notes and definitions, which contain concise descriptions of the data sources, concepts, definitions, and methodology from which the data are derived;references to more comprehensive reports which provide additional data and more extensive descriptions of estimation methods, sampling, and reliability measures.The seventeenth edition of Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics also covers many new topics: Labor force and employment projections from 2012 to 2022More employee benefit tables including: financial benefits, nonproduction bonuses, and unmarried domestic partner benefits A section on volunteering in the United States Several new tables on international labor comparisonsFigures on topics such as the labor force, household income, eldercare, labor productivity, and employment