Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books (King Lear)
King Lear in Our Time by This edition first published in 1966. Previous edition published 1965 by the University of California Press. Perhaps more than any other play of Shakespeare's King Learhas been subjected to almost totally contradictory interpretations. In the first historical section of the book the author describes the varying concepts of the play and the distortions of text and even plot that have been widely used. Garrick's playing of Lear as a pathetic and down-trodden old man. Laughton's and Olivier's versions and Herbert Blaus's theory of the 'subtext' are described and analysed. The central section of the book examines the medieval, folk and romance sources of the play. The final chapter illustrates how the action of the play and its pervading violence and evil are not explained in terms of human motive and rely for their meaning more on their effects than their antecedents. An important theme is the play's examination of society and the ties of service and family love.
Call Number: PR2819.M3 1972
Publication Date: 1972-11-15
Poor Tom: Living King Lear by King Lear is perhaps the most fierce and moving play ever written. And yet there is a curious puzzle at its center. The figure to whom Shakespeare gives more lines than anyone except the king--Edgar--has often seemed little more than a blank, ignored and unloved, a belated moralizer who, try as he may, can never truly speak to the play’s savaged heart. He saves his blinded father from suicide, but even this act of care is shadowed by suspicions of evasiveness and bad faith. In Poor Tom, Simon Palfrey asks us to go beyond any such received understandings--and thus to experience King Lear as never before. He argues that the part of Edgar is Shakespeare’s most radical experiment in characterization, and his most exhaustive model of both human and theatrical possibility. The key to the Edgar character is that he spends most of the play disguised, much of it as "Poor Tom of Bedlam,” and his disguises come to uncanny life. The Edgar role is always more than one person; it animates multitudes, past and present and future, and gives life to states of being beyond the normal reach of the senses--undead, or not-yet, or ghostly, or possible rather than actual. And because the Edgar role both connects and retunes all of the figures and scenes in King Lear, close attention to this particular part can shine stunning new light on how the whole play works. The ultimate message of Palfrey’s bravura analysis is the same for readers or actors or audiences as it is for the characters in the play: see and listen feelingly; pay attention, especially when it seems as though there is nothing there.
Call Number: PR2819 .P35 2014
Publication Date: 2014-09-10
Shakespeare's Daughters by The father-daughter relationship was one that Shakespeare explored again and again. His typical pattern featured a middle-aged or older man, usually a widower, with an adolescent daughter who had spent most of her life under her father's control, protected in his house. The plays usually begin when the daughter is on the verge of womanhood and eager to assert her own identity and make her own decisions, especially in matters of the heart, even if it means going against her father's wishes. This work considers Capulet in Romeo and Juliet as an inept father to Juliet and Prospero in The Tempest as an able mentor to Miranda; Hermia in A Midsummer Night's Dream, Jessica in The Merchant of Venice and Desdemona in Othello as daughters who rebel against their fathers; Hero in Much Ado About Nothing, Lavinia in Titus Andronicus and Ophelia in Hamlet as daughters who acquiesce; Bianca in The Taming of the Shrew and Goneril and Regan in King Lear as daughters who cunningly play the good girl role; Portia in The Merchant of Venice, Viola in Twelfth Night and Rosalind in As You Like It as daughters who act in their fathers' places; and Marina in Pericles, Perdita in The Winter's Tale and Cordelia in Lear as daughters who forgive and heal
Call Number: PR2992.D38 H36 2003
Publication Date: 2003-03-25
Shakespeare's Mature Tragedies by Despite their diversity in tone and subject matter, Shakespeare's four mature tragedies--Hamlet, Othello, King Lear, and Macbeth--all have an essential experience in common. Bernard McElroy defines this experience as the collapse of the subjective world of the tragic hero. Originally published in 1973. The Princeton Legacy Library uses the latest print-on-demand technology to again make available previously out-of-print books from the distinguished backlist of Princeton University Press. These editions preserve the original texts of these important books while presenting them in durable paperback and hardcover editions. The goal of the Princeton Legacy Library is to vastly increase access to the rich scholarly heritage found in the thousands of books published by Princeton University Press since its founding in 1905.
Call Number: PR2983.M317
Publication Date: 2014-07-14
Shakespeare's Tragic Skepticism by Readers of Shakespeare's greatest tragedies have long noted the absence of readily explainable motivations for some of Shakespeare's greatest characters: why does Hamlet delay his revenge for so long? Why does King Lear choose to renounce his power? Why is Othello so vulnerable to Iago's malice? But while many critics have chosen to overlook these omissions or explain them away, Millicent Bell demonstrates that they are essential elements of Shakespeare's philosophy of doubt. Examining the major tragedies, Millicent Bell reveals the persistent strain of philosophical scepticism. Like his contemporary, Montaigne, Shakespeare repeatedly calls attention to the essential unknowability of our world.
Call Number: PR2983 .B45 2002
Publication Date: 2002-12-11
King Lear - Full Text (Folger Library)
KING LEAR (Scroll Down for Resouces)
"A man may see how this world Goes with no eyes. Look with thine ears."
King Lear dramatizes the story of an aged king of ancient Britain, whose plan to divide his kingdom among his three daughters ends tragically. When he tests each by asking how much she loves him, the older daughters, Goneril and Regan, flatter him. The youngest, Cordelia, does not, and Lear disowns and banishes her. She marries the king of France. Goneril and Regan turn on Lear, leaving him to wander madly in a furious storm.
Meanwhile, the Earl of Gloucester’s illegitimate son Edmund turns Gloucester against his legitimate son, Edgar. Gloucester, appalled at the daughters’ treatment of Lear, gets news that a French army is coming to help Lear. Edmund betrays Gloucester to Regan and her husband, Cornwall, who puts out Gloucester's eyes and makes Edmund the Earl of Gloucester.
Cordelia and the French army save Lear, but the army is defeated. Edmund imprisons Cordelia and Lear. Edgar then mortally wounds Edmund in a trial by combat. Dying, Edmund confesses that he has ordered the deaths of Cordelia and Lear. Before they can be rescued, Lear brings in Cordelia’s body and then he himself dies.
Photo: King Lear, 1971, Athena Films.
Videos (King Lear)
Shakespeare Series: King Lear (Ful Production) [Kanopy Video]
Shakespearean Drama of the Highest Quality Performed at an authentic recreation of The Globe. With performances by world famous award winning Shakespearean actors this series has recaptured the Elizabethan flavor of Shakespeare's own Globe productions by staging them just as they were seen in the 16th century. The renowned story of mistaken love, familial deceit and murder. Lear, the aging King of Britain, has chosen to lay aside the care of the kingship and divide his kingdom between his three daughters, Goneril, Regan and Cordelia. Featuring Mike Kellen, David Groh, Kitty Winn, Darryl Hickman and Charles Hickman (2005)
USE THESE ARTICLE DATABASES TO SEARCH FOR SCHOLARLY RESEARCH ON SHAKESPEARE
MLA International Bibliography /w Full Text [EBSCO]
Citations from 4400 journals with over 1000 indexed in Full Text. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts
Academic Search Premier [EBSCO]
A GENERAL Academic Article Database that accesses over 13,000 journals and features 0ver 4,000 peer-reviewed journals in Full Text
Research Library [ProQuest]
a GENERAL multidisciplinary database comprised of abstracts and indexing of articles from 6300 general periodicals, including full text articles from more than 3000 periodicals.
Shakespeare Quarterly (Scholarly Journal)
Call Number: Information
Publication Date: (2010 - Present) In PRINT at McGrath Library & Online
Shakespeare Quarterly is a peer-reviewed journal committed to publishing essays at the forefront of Shakespeare studies.
Shakespeare Studies (Scholarly Journal)
Call Number: Online Journal Databases
Publication Date: (1975 - Present) Online from McGrath Library
An international volume of essays, studies and reviews dealing with the cultural history of early modern England and the place of Shakespeare's production in it.