Textual Performances by
This important collection brings together leading scholars to examine crucial questions regarding the theory and practice of editing Shakespeare's plays. In particular, the essays look at how best to engage editorially with evidence provided by historical research into the playhouse, author's study and printing house. How are editors of playscripts to mediate history, in its many forms, for modern users? Considering our knowledge of the past is partial (in the senses both of incomplete and ideological) where are we to draw the line between legitimate editorial assistance and unwarranted interference? In what innovative ways might current controversies surrounding the mediation of Shakespeare's drama shape future editorial practice? Focusing on key points of debate and controversy, this collection makes a vital contribution to a better understanding of how editorial practice (on the page and in cyberspace) might develop in the twenty-first century.
Speak the Speech! Shakespeare's Monologues Illuminated by
The most comprehensive sourcebook of Shakespeare's monologues ever available in one volume. A detailed guide to approaching Shakespearean text,Speak the Speech! contains everything an actor needs to select and prepare a Shakespeare monologue for classwork, auditions, or performance. Included herein are over 150 monologues. Each one is placed in context with a brief introduction, is carefully punctuated in the manner that best illustrates its meaning, and is painstakingly and thoroughly annotated. Each is also accompanied by commentary that will spark the actor's imagination by exploring how the interrelationship of meter and the choice of words and sounds yields clues to character and performance. And throughout the book sidebars relate historical, topical, technical, and other useful and entertaining information relevant to the text. In addition, the authors include an overview of poetic and rhetorical elements, brief synopses of all the plays, and a comprehensive index along with other guidelines that will help readers locate the perfect monologue for their needs. More than just an actor's toolkit,Speak the Speech! is also an entertaining resource that will help demystify Shakespeare's language for the student and theater lover alike.
The Repertory of Shakespeare's Company, 1594-1613 by
Knutson demystifies Shakespeare and his company by providing a clear vision of the dynamics of repertory management and play-going in Shakespeare's England.
Shakespeare's Visual Theatre: Staging the Personified Characters by
In this study of Shakespeare's visual culture Frederick Kiefer looks at the personified characters created by Shakespeare in his plays, his walking, talking abstractions. These include Rumour in 2 Henry IV, Time in The Winter's Tale, Spring and Winter in Love's Labour's Lost, Revenge in Titus Andronicus, and the deities in the late plays. All these personae take physical form on the stage: the actors performing the roles wear distinctive attire and carry appropriate props. The book seeks to reconstruct the appearance of Shakespeare's personified characters; to explain the symbolism of their costumes and props; and to assess the significance of these symbolic characters for the plays in which they appear. To accomplish this reconstruction, Kiefer brings together a wealth of visual and literary evidence including engravings, woodcuts, paintings, drawings, tapestries, emblems, civic pageants, masques, poetry and plays. The book contains over forty illustrations of personified characters in Shakespeare's time.
Shakespeare and the Popular Tradition in the Theater by
A magnificent study... [that] illuminates the role of folk culture in medieval drama, especially in the cycle plays and moralities, and convincingly carries the tradition forward into Elizabethan drama... We are fortunate indeed to have this book.
Politics, Plague and Shakespeare's Theater by 
Shakespeare, the King's Playwright by
Soon after James Stuart became King of England in 1603, William Shakespeare, while still working in the public theatre, became the royal playwright, and his acting troupe became the premier playing company of the realm. How did this courtly setting influence Shakespeare's work? What was it like to view, perform in, and write plays conceived for the Stuart king?
The Cambridge Introduction to Early English Theatre by
This introduction offers an overview of early English theatre from the earliest recorded vernacular texts in the late medieval period to the closing of the theatres in 1642. Where most existing studies focus on one side or the other of an imaginary boundary between 'medieval' and 'early modern' or 'Renaissance' drama, this book examines the theatre of nearly three centuries in a way that highlights continuities as well as divisions. The study is organised into five subject-based chapters: Place and space; Actors and audiences; Writers, controllers and critics; Genre and tradition; Instruction and spectacle. It includes full chronologies, helpful text boxes and over twenty illustrations.
THE GLOBE THEATRE & STAGING/PRODUCTION CONCEPTS
Founded by the pioneering American actor and director Sam Wanamaker, Shakespeare's Globe is a unique international resource dedicated to the exploration of Shakespeare's work and the playhouse for which he wrote, through the connected means of performance and education.
Together, the Globe Theatre, Globe Exhibition & Tour and Globe Education seek to further the experience and international understanding of Shakespeare in performance. (Globe Theatre Co.)
Shakespeare; The Globe Theatre London tour (YouTube)
USE THESE ARTICLE DATABASES TO SEARCH FOR SCHOLARLY RESEARCH ON SHAKESPEARE
Citations from 4400 journals with over 1000 indexed in Full Text. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts
A GENERAL Academic Article Database that accesses over 13,000 journals and features Over 4,000 peer-reviewed journals in Full Text
A general multidisciplinary database comprised of abstracts and indexing of articles from 6300 general periodicals, including full text articles from more than 3000 periodicals.
Shakespeare Quarterly (Scholarly Journal)
Shakespeare Studies (Scholarly Journal)